Skip to content

Mission: Operation Beautiful

05/08/2010

After losing 80 pounds I gained weight with a serious back injury.  I beat myself up daily saying I was fat.  On an assignment in New York City I walked past a subway entrance advertising a new make-up “guaranteed” to make you look beautiful.  Right :-/.  Attached near the model’s face was a small orange post-it.  Intrigued I moved closer to read it.

“YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL, JUST THE WAY YOU ARE!”

My day was brighter as I walked away smiling.  All the negative thoughts racing through my head vanished as I remembered I’m beautiful for being me.  Not because I was thin or attractive, just me.  I had no idea who left the note or why, but I was happier because they did.

I found Caitlin’s blog and was surprised this one little note was part of a larger movement…Operation Beautiful.  I posted notes with the same message telling others they are beautiful too. My bathroom mirror has a note I read every morning saying I’m beautiful no matter what the scale says.  That sucker lies!

Then came the book.  I squealed with glee and called local bookstores the second an early copy was spotted.  No luck (it was released August 3)…so I ordered one and it came early 😀

I picked it up Saturday and planned to leave a note in the other copies on the shelf.  Unfortunately…or fortunately for me…mine was the only copy they had.  Change of plans.  I left as many notes I could dream up in Barnes & Noble and Target.  Here they are!

Do you get the message yet? … You are beautiful!  Still need more convincing…

Some teenagers saw me leave this note and went to peek when I moved.  I spied on them as they read…no more moody teenagers, they had huge grins 🙂

No matter who you are or what you look like YOU ARE AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL!

Be kind to yourself.  Love yourself.  You are worth it.  Brighten someone’s day and spread the love.  PS Men are beautiful too!

*As you read this I’m standing outside the TODAY show in Rockefeller Center supporting Caitlin.  A large group of bloggers are the Operation Beautiful Cheerleaders. We believe in this movement…won’t you join us?*

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    05/08/2010 8:45 AM

    What an awesome post!!! I just SAW YOU on the Today Show!!! 🙂 So exciting

  2. Melissa permalink
    05/08/2010 10:44 AM

    holy cow! I watched that segment this morning and I would have thought to look for you had I known… now i’m going on line to see if i can find you! Thank you for this post. I’m truly inspired.

  3. 05/08/2010 12:35 PM

    I saw you in the crowd! Awesome job on helping to organize people with some great OB posters 🙂 Hope you had fun.

  4. 05/08/2010 7:08 PM

    I heard you guys came out on TV, too! Beautiful cheerleaders for a beautiful movement! 😀

  5. 06/08/2010 8:39 PM

    Great Post!!! I love all the Post-It’s. I stumpled upon Caitlin’s HTP blog before I knew about Operation Beautiful and loved it so finding out about it made it even greater to flow her. =)

Trackbacks

  1. Walk a Million Miles | It All Changes
  2. Talking to Myself | It All Changes

Leave a comment