Skip to content

Roasted Easter Dinner–Recipe

29/04/2011

While everyone enjoys big Easter dinners with family after church services, I took a nap.

IMG_1894

It takes a lot out to set up the services for Holy Week so I was sleepy.  Same thing happened at Christmas when we ordered Chinese food. Smile

This year I wanted to cook dinner even if we ordered sushi for lunch – and my cupcake.  Easter is a fabulous holiday celebrating new life in Christ and I wanted to celebrate the new life with spring vegetables in my favorite.  Roasting takes little prep and allows me to accomplish other tasks while dinner cooks itself.  My new food motto…”If you roast it, they will come…to the table.”

Simple Spring Veggie Roast

IMG_1612

Ingredients

IMG_1535

  • Asparagus
  • Radishes
  • Grape or cherry tomatoes
  • Olive oil
  • White wine vinegar
  • Sea Salt
  • Garlic powder

Instructions

  1. Take pretty pictures of veggies because they are so colorful.IMG_1547  Okay that’s just me, but they are pretty.IMG_1513 Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line baking trays with aluminum foil for easy clean up.IMG_1563
  2. Cut asparagus in half or three segments.  Slice radishes using mandoline or very sharp knife.  Place both in a bowl with tomatoes.
  3. Add 2 tbsp. olive oil, 8 tbsp. vinegar, garlic powder and salt to taste.  Combine using tongs and spread onto pre-prepared baking sheets. IMG_1570
  4. Roast for 35-45 minutes depending on how hot your oven is and how crispy you like your veggies.  IMG_1573 Meanwhile, mist pan with olive oil and “fry” an egg until runny.IMG_1594If runny eggs skeeve you out, cook how you like…but you’re missing the fun of runny eggs dripping into your veggies. IMG_1596

Enjoy each spring filled bite.  Confession: I went back for more veggies…they were spring-rific!

IMG_1598

To save time throughout the week, we roasted a ton to throw on salads, fill sandwiches, bulk up wraps, scrambles and whatever else you can dream up.  I’m imagining some fun with my Eggplant Bacon. Perfect because asparagus is in season and the tomatoes pop in my mouth, like little spring bombs. Open-mouthed smile

What recipe says SPRING to you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/04/2011 5:57 AM

    this whole lovely post and I sit here…with my awake child…COVETING YER NAP 🙂

  2. 29/04/2011 11:32 AM

    mmm, roasted is my favorite way to eat my veggies. that looks like a fabulous easter dinner!

  3. 29/04/2011 11:03 PM

    I will ONLY eat eggs runny. What is the point of a hard-boiled or well-cooked egg? It’s all about the yolk!

    your napping pic is adorable. 😉

    • 30/04/2011 7:35 PM

      Thanks Sophia. It was a long Sunday. I love runny eggs for most things. My grandma taught me they make great sauce on noodles and are perfect with bread. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. » Highlights: Asparagus

Leave a Reply

