Skip to content

Name Game

28/04/2011

I love names.  I had a personal baby name book as a teen looking for origins and derivations picking names for story characters…and fun.  Biblical footnotes explaining names for children inspire me to understand what names mean in all situations.

I at my name; Cynthia is from the goddess of the Moon and Lee is English for field.  Nothing to do with me although perhaps I might be a goddess at times – or just a diva – and love running through fields. field

I saw this name game on several blogs and thought it was fun, especially with my love of names.  I giggle to think Momma – who’s name is Beth – could have been a Martha Louise.

momma

Bring on the name fun. Smile

1. How did your parents decide on your name?

The joke is someone wanted to name me Liberty – my maiden name is Bell.  Good God, thank you for saving me from school humiliation.  It was hard enough being called ding-a-ling and ring-a-ding though middle school. Imagine a girl near Philly named Liberty Bell.

liberty bell

(source)

Instead my dad named me.  Cynthia was German based – I was born in Frankfurt – and I have many, many, many relatives with Lee as a middle name.

2. Do your initials (first/middle/last) spell anything funny?

My maiden name initials were CLB so I was called Club and Slob once or twice but they didn’t stick.  Married is CLC so nothing funny there either.

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you drop your middle name & take your maiden name as your middle name?

The only thing Hunni wanted when we got married was for me to take his last name…oh and a cake. Smile

wedding dress 2

No one in his family pronounces it the same, so once we agreed on a pronunciation – prior to the wedding – I took his name and dropped the maiden name.  I’m old school like that!

4. Are you or will you name your children systematically? (i.e., same first letter, same origin, etc.)

No system here.  We don’t want to end up on a TLC show.  We chose family sort of names instead…and meaning is important to us too.

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?

Oh yes!  I wanted my First Daughter to be Mary Jo Elizabeth after an old family joke…Momma is Elizabeth and her sisters are Mary and Jo.  Grandma would call all three to find out who was in trouble.  The joke was we needed a real Mary Jo Elizabeth in the family and I liked the idea.  Hunni think’s it’s sweet and a family name so he was okay.

The other girl name was Mercedes Grace.  Mercedes means mercy in Spanish and I love the way it rolls off the tongue.  Hunni vetoed it in a second saying High School boys would want “to take her for a test drive.”  I can’t get that image out of my head so it’s a no go.

Boys names I wavered on.  I never thought about having boy children really…they pee on things and people.  Disappointed smile

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?

My brother’s name is Alan which is my dad’s middle name.  Hunni is named after his grandfather.  Other than that not much.  We want family names but not juniors.

7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?

Both.  I want the name to have a good origin and meaning as well as significance to Hunni and our family.  It means I can dig out my baby name books from High School. Open-mouthed smile

8. Do you name pets with human names or pet names?

We rescued our dogs so they came with names.  Leo is an old-fashioned human name.  He’s our little old man.

IMG_3658

Peanut is definitely not a human name…I think.  I have no idea how she got her name.  She’s a grouchy old lady who should be named Maude.

IMG_3464

“I’m being anti-social today.”

9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?

There will be no Todd’s in this family…EVER!  I taught high school Spanish for 2 years and was terrorized by a Todd who once told me to go F&$K myself.  Also Chastity is out along with any other names which can sub for adjectives or nouns, like Christian or Apple.  Hunni doesn’t think a kid should have to live up to a title.

10. What are some of your favorite names & why?

Mary Jo Elizabeth is a given.  I promised my grandma and I love the tradition.  For boys we go round and round but currently like Joel.  If we have more than two children we’ll be blessed but God help them because we have no ideas on names.

Ok, your turn.  Go play!

*Note: We are not pregnant in any way shape or form.  This was just for fun.*

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/04/2011 1:34 PM

    that’s so much fun! i love names too! my middle name is rose, which is my mom’s middle name and my grandma’s first name! i love it. 🙂

  2. 28/04/2011 3:03 PM

    Cute! I may just have to play as well. My fun name story? My name is Summer, and I do, indeed, have a sister named Autumn (just the two seasons, no more). And we were born in June and November, respectively.

Trackbacks

  1. Time for a baby name game? Girls Only!!? | game for girls
  2. This Little Veggie Went to Market « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

