Skip to content

Unwind the Rubber Band

23/04/2011

As a kid I was uncoordinated in school, so I joined the band.  IMG_1492As any band geek – the official term – will tell you, “Band is a sport!”  IMG_1505

When I started exercising, I skipped out on the stretching – unless instructed by the DVD.  It was boring, so I “forgot” to do so…even after I started running.

Now 10 years, and probably just as many injuries, later, I’ve learned a few things about the art of the stretch.

  1. Stiff as a board is is a game to play at sleepovers, not with sports.stiff (Source)The older I get, the more I need to stretch.  Otherwise I’ll be stuck.
  2. Don’t take touching your toes for granted. IMG_1484 Seeing your toes is a blessing…touching them – especially after spinal surgery – is amazing. IMG_1481
  3. Kids have no bones.  Okay maybe not but they can do thing I’ll never dream of…but it’s fun to try.kids yoga
  4. Stretching makes all of life more fun. Winking smileI’ll let you use your imagination.
  5. It’s time to unwind the rubber band. rubber band (source) eagleOr rewind in a relaxing pose. (source)
  6. Sleep is better…or you have something to due during bouts of insomnia.   Is it yoga or nap time?
  7. Grocery line yoga makes you look funny. So does tree pose in front of trees.  tree apple yoga(picture from Heather)
  8. Downward dog is a wonderful but it’s embarrassing when the real dog shows you up.

donward dogIMG_6009

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 23/04/2011 8:50 AM

    My mom is a natural at downward dog!She had never done it in her life and I showed her what it was.

    First time, with proper form, her heels were touching the ground like it was no big thing.

    I was just a little jealous of her innate flexibility.

    • 23/04/2011 12:23 PM

      That would make me very jealous. My 11 year old cousin can do inversions I can only dream of. She just watched the instructor a few times and did them. Crazy!

  2. 23/04/2011 10:33 PM

    my pu pand kitty always show me up when I’m doing yoga! 🙂

  3. 24/04/2011 11:31 AM

    fun post! I was in the marching band too! =)

Leave a Reply

