Skip to content

Clean Up Your Act

19/04/2011

I may be a camel…maybe.

camel

(source)

I drink (water) and more water with people asking, “Doesn’t all that water make you pee a lot.”  The short answer, Nope!

I have a CamelBak Pack on my fitness gadget wish list – I have a lot of wish lists. Until my body cooperates on the injury status I’m sticking with my bottle belt.

running geek 003

For sitting on my butt everyday I have many others including 2 Sigg Bottles.

Sin I only use them for water, I rarely clean them.  Gross I know.  It never occurred to me a WATER bottle would need cleaning.  Lately my stomach is more off than normal…even with the water consumption.  After reading Chelsey’s post about water bottle troubles I knew mine needed cleaning.

My hiking friends from college– like those who do the entire Appalachian trail – said there’s no need for fancy stuff.  All you need is:

  • Bottle brushesIMG_0890
  • Denture tabletsIMG_1016Yep, you read that right, denture cleaner! Smile

I purchased the CamelBak brushes on sale but you can get them anywhere.

The process is simple.

  1. Fill you water bottle and a small bowl with warm but not hot water.
  2. Place two denture tablets per bottle and one in the bowl. IMG_1054Add your bottle caps to the bowl.
  3. Do both bottle and caps at the same time. IMG_1061Follow directions on package.
  4. Bottles: Empty half-way and scrub inside using large bottle brush. IMG_0921 With small bottle brush, scrub threads and around mouth. IMG_0933Rinse several times.
  5. Caps: Use small brush to clean threads and gasket. IMG_1083 If your cap looks like mine a. you waited a long time to clean it and b. a replacement cap might be in order. IMG_1077Rinse several times.

Ready to Go! IMG_1084 Now Drink Up!

Have any fun cleaning tips to share?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. actorsdiet permalink
    19/04/2011 11:25 AM

    i so need to do this!!!

  2. 19/04/2011 3:08 PM

    I have a camelback backpack but I never think to wear it on runs! that’s a great idea..

    and yes, I need to clean a lot of my water bottles. oops.

  3. 19/04/2011 5:27 PM

    Not going to lie- I haven’t cleaned my water bottle in months. I am disgusting!!

  4. 19/04/2011 10:55 PM

    wow, thanks for the reminder. i’ve had my klean kanteen for a LONG time and i’m not sure that i’ve ever done a really good cleaning on it! i’m on that right now. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Must Do Daily « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

