Skip to content

Bacon Eggplant?–Recipe

14/04/2011

Or is it eggplant bacon? Since becoming a vegetarian almost a year ago, I don’t miss meat.  Most meat is easily omitted or substituted and heck it’s cheaper.  But there is just one thing I can’t replace…Bacon.

Chewy, Yummy, Smokey Bacon! O wait that’s a commercial.IMG_9887

However some of my favorite recipes call for bacon.  Favorite family dishes and some wacky ones as well.  With my allergies I haven’t found suitable sub for the smoky strips.

Then a miracle happen and rays of light shined down…a non-soy vegetarian bacon recipe!  Hallelujah!

IMG_9891

Eggplant Bacon

Modified from Appetite for Reduction

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.  Line baking sheet with parchment or sil-pat and spay lightly with olive oil. If you don’t have olive oil spray you can sub cooking spray or use a pastry brush.  The brush will be artistic. Smile
  2. Cut top and bottom off eggplant.  Split in half lengthwise.  IMG_9906Create 1/4 inch half-moon shapes.  The is one of the easiest shapes to cut evenly with a knife.IMG_9910These make small pieces of bacon.  Learn from me: Instead of half-moons, using a mandoline, cut eggplant into bacon sized strips. Hmmm…must add a mandoline to my Kitchen’s wish list.
  3. Place eggplant sections on parchment lined sheets and spray with more olive oil or equivalent. IMG_9913 Bake for 7-10 minutes until tops begin to brown.
  4. Remove immediately and allow to cool. Lower oven to 375 degrees.  This is the most tedious part.  Enjoy some time on twitter or do a yoga podcast while they cool. Combine Liquid smoke and the aminos – or soy; 1 tsp. of liquid smoke for every 2 tbsp. of aminos.IMG_9920 Coat eggplant pieces in mixture… Don’t scream “Smells like smoke” to Hunni. IMG_0007He’ll freak out and think you burned the paper towels again. Place on parchment and return to oven for 3-5 minutes until dark and chewy. IMG_0032 Learn from me: If you like crispy bacon, place under broiler on high until skin edges begin to curl. IMG_0074

Use within an hour – or so – for best bacon value.  If you need to reheat place in oven at 350 for 5 minutes.  Trust me you’ll eat these fast with old recipes…or perhaps a new recipe?IMG_0106Do you have a great recipe I can make with my bacon?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/04/2011 7:34 AM

    I have seen eggplant bacon quite a bit, it’s on my to-make list. I think an eggplant bacon, avocado, lettuce, and tomato sandwich would be fantastic. Or an eggplant bacon omelet? 🙂

  2. 14/04/2011 10:12 AM

    Did it taste like bacon?

  3. 14/04/2011 8:36 PM

    Wow! Who knew that you could do that? When we want bacon, I use the morningstar farm kind, but it’s got a lot of preservatives and sodium, so it’s a verrrry occasionally thing.

    • 14/04/2011 9:17 PM

      Definitely lots of preservatives in that stuff. And for me it’s the soy too. But if you use low sodium soy sauce this is a great substitute.

  4. 15/04/2011 12:33 AM

    That’s such a good idea! I saw a recipe like this a long time ago, but it was made in a dehydrator, so I didn’t think I could make it. I’m so glad to see you had success with the oven!

    • 15/04/2011 11:13 AM

      It’s not a perfect replica but it is good enough to get the taste and prevent the stomach problems.

Trackbacks

  1. eBLaT-Recipe « It All Changes
  2. Roasted Easter Dinner–Recipe « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

