Skip to content

Finding Peace

11/04/2011

The last few weeks have been a maze of anxiety, illness and stress.

IMG_9774

I’ve been lost without my normal coping skills.  I typically run but I was ordered “no bouncing” by the doctor.  My other coping mechanisms are unhealthy and I’ve worked too hard to correct them.  This left me feeling alone.

IMG_9775Instead I found peace in quieting my mind and heart.  I turned off Twitter and Facebook most evenings and rarely commented on blogs.  Not because I don’t love my readers and chatting…it was just one more to-do added on the pile of stress. 

Instead I went for a walk, read a book and took a nap.  The silence for a even a bit was relaxing and provided a few moments peace to move forward.

IMG_9779

I overviewed my goals for the last two weeks…and I’m still working on them.  They aren’t something to turn on and off therefore I keep working on them.

This week’s goals are not to be measured.  Instead they are to be enjoyed and further reduce stress.

This Week’s Goals:

  • Take a bubble bath.  Preferably with candles and music.
  • Eat at home. Set the table, prepare a full meal and converse as a family.
  • Take a family walk. The snow has cleared…the weather still has a chill…and the dogs are ready for a power walk to give us all a good workout.
  • Sip tea with a good book.  A nice cup of hot tea in a chair on the porch.  I’ll need my snuggie but the fresh air and escape will do me well.
  • Plan for my garden.  Even if it never is planted, thinking of things to plant reminds me Spring is truly here and so are the fresh veggies.
  • Do yoga.  Even if it is an hour of savasana pose.
  • Pray. Enough said.
  • Write three positive things for every one negative thing I say about myself.  My body image is in the toilet now and I will remind myself I am beautiful…and so are you.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    11/04/2011 11:15 AM

    This list reminds me that I need to make an identical one for myself. It’s hard to write down things like these as to-do items because they somehow seem less important but they really are the MOST important things we need to do for ourselves, to reduce stress & anxiety. I find yoga is really beneficial for this, especially meditation. Good luck with your week 🙂

    • 11/04/2011 2:05 PM

      Thank you. Yoga is relaxing for me. I enjoy the calm it brings with simple movements. I like to combine it with prayer.

  2. 11/04/2011 10:55 PM

    Your goals sound great. I am also planning for my garden too!

    • 12/04/2011 11:04 AM

      I enjoy planning and relaxing while gardening. It’s the timing to actually start it that bothers me.

Trackbacks

  1. Ugh the weekend | Daring To Grow

Leave a Reply

