Skip to content

Dirty Feet

10/04/2011

Tuesday was my One Day Without Shoes.

day without shoes

It was cold and rainy. Yet out the door I went.

IMG_9840

Driving my car*…IMG_9845

To the doctor’s office…

IMG_9844

And working out…yoga because the gym requires shoes.

IMG_0561

I stepped over stones and on them. Ouch!

IMG_9839

Used the heat liberally in the car to unfreeze my feet.

IMG_9846

Finally scrubbed the dirt caked on my foot everywhere but my ankle brace.

IMG_0547

It was difficult for one day…I can’t imagine a lifetime.  I think my summer shoes will be a pair of TOMS to give a child a pair.  It’s worth it.

*okay I had my crocs because it’s illegal to drive without shoes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/04/2011 12:20 PM

    I absolutely love this! I think TOMS does such important work!

  2. 11/04/2011 12:38 AM

    As someone who has her heart in Kenya and still volunteers for causes in sub-Saharan Africa, this truly warmed my heart. Thank you!

    • 11/04/2011 8:24 AM

      So glad. We have a friend who did three years as director of all the children’s programs for The Salvation Army in Kenya. I still have my heart in Brazil so I know what you mean. It was a strong reminder of all I take for granted.

  3. 11/04/2011 12:58 PM

    Oh wow – what an inspiration your friend is. You’ll have to pick her brain for me! 🙂

    I agree that it’s a good reminder of a life that is simpler in materials but (to me) richer in community and appreciation.

    xo

Leave a Reply

