Skip to content

My Day Without Shoes

05/04/2011

TOMS Shoes were on my radar as a celebrity favorite with a good commercial.  For every pair you buy they donate one pair to a child in need. Yet I’m not a shoe girl and rarely buy any except running shoes.

When exploring Mindy’s 101 list I saw TOMS was more than just a celebrity feel good.  When giving a pair of shoes they improve life.

I love the story and mission but I don’t like shoes.  TOMS “A Day Without Shoes” campaign was the perfect solution.

A day without shoes…why would someone do that? This video is tells why I will.

In 1996 I went on a mission’s team to Brazil. We saw the kids walking around in favelas with no shoes, stepping in waste and filth daily.  I was told to bring shoes that would be ruined but the kids didn’t have that option.  Those memories flooded back as I watched and reminded me of the pain I felt for them.

The kicker was the quotes on Ethiopian children.  Hunni and I dream of adopting from Ethiopia and have friends who have the cutest little girl.  While there our friend – who is a part-time photographer – took pictures of children without shoes playing and working.  I saw the pain and problems in each picture and hear it in his words.  He left part of his heart hurting with the people in Ethiopia.

I am blessed and take for granted having three pairs of shoes for work alone.  I don’t want to forget this and to be more aware of the difficulties I avoid everyday because of one pair of shoes.

Today, 5 April 2011, is my Day Without Shoes.

day without shoes

A day to stretch outside my comfort zone and think of others who do this everyday.  With each step without shoes I will pray.

IMG_9838

I will pray for those who do not have and thank God for what I do.  I will pray for the son and/or daughter who will one day be in our home.  I will pray for healing on those who are sick.  Most of all I will pray never to forget.

Won’t you join me and millions of others in a Day Without Shoes?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/04/2011 6:47 PM

    I’ve been wanting to do this for the past 2 years, but being in nursing school clinicals and working as a nurse does not allow this to happen for me 😦

    • 05/04/2011 6:54 PM

      It has been such an eye opener. I can see how you job wouldn’t be conducive to it. But you can do it on your own day to reflect how it is.

Trackbacks

  1. Dirty Feet « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

