Skip to content

The Joke’s On You Soy

01/04/2011

Until this morning I thought the snow was gone.  Look at these pictures I took Thursday on the mountain.

IMG_9709IMG_9711

I seriously thought the weathermen’s union designed the world’s best April Fool’s Joke…

1 FOOT OF SNOW!

friday snow

Not to mention this is what Monday is supposed to look like.

Monday

At least one more snow day will give me a reason to stay home and check things of my ever-growing to-do list.

What’s your favorite April Fool’s Joke?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

While the weather plays a joke on us I decided to play a joke on soy sauce.

My first thought when told I had a soy allergy was “What am I going to put on sushi, now?!” I’d already given up my fish when becoming a vegetarian. Wasabi was not an option…that nasty pile of green goo.  Not even if Chef Morimoto grated it fresh on his shark skin thing.

wasabi

(source)

I’ll pretend I’m taking Alton Brown’s advice that the sushi chef includes it in the roll if necessary.  No way I’m admitting to be a weenie for wasabi…

I drink Frank’s Hot Sauce and Siracha for fun. Winking smile

IMG_9763

Back to my joke on soy.  I made a few missteps since my food allergy diagnoses.

  • First, tamari…until I realized gluten-free soy sauce was still SOY sauce.  Ooops.
  • Then, liquid aminos which led to itchy burning city.  Not worth it.
  • Finally, making soy sauce.  However most require beef broth to make and when I order sushi it’s because I don’t feel like cooking so I really don’t feel like making soy-less soy sauce.

So I learned to eat my vegetarian sushi alone and some days felt lonely.  I always ask for double ginger and bought a jar for the fridge to get the extra kick.

IMG_9737

Of course there is my favorite treat too.

Then the sky opened up and rainbows sparkled when I walked into my favorite local food store.  Behold my new love…

IMG_9432

Don’t worry Peanut, Leo and Hunni I still love y’all too.

dog coats

My sushi intake may increase dramatically.

IMG_9437IMG_9433

I need to buy a bottle like those for oil to prevent wasting so much.

IMG_9484IMG_9470

Until then…there is more sushi to eat. Smile

downsized_0329111212

How do you like your sushi?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/04/2011 12:59 PM

    I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t have soy with my Sushi!
    I eat my sushi with tons of wasabi and soy! Yum! Not a fan of the pickled ginger though!

    • 01/04/2011 1:01 PM

      I didn’t realized how much I relied on my soy until i couldn’t use it. I was very, very sad. Now I’m very, very happy 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bacon Eggplant?–Recipe « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

