Skip to content

I’m a During

29/03/2011

I’m not this woman currently…

Back to it 006

Nope…this is me now.

IMG_8805

Not your typical pictures on a Weight Watchers post.  Usually the pictures are reversed…and they used to be.

My health problems aren’t hidden on It All Changes.  I share in hope that knowing others with labels doesn’t mean we aren’t capable or are lazy.  Bipolar, IBS, food intolerances and allergies and much more are part of life.

Injuries can and will happen.  No healthy living journey is smooth sailing…that’s why I call it the roller coaster of life.

roller coaster

In the last 6 months I’ve gained 40 pounds…most in the last three.  I don’t like it, I don’t understand it, and I can’t control it.  What I can control is my attitude and how I deal with it.  I could give in and binge without exercising thinking they’re doing no good…but I’m not.

Instead I focus on my health first.  For me weight loss was about 10% vanity and 90% health.  Sure I wanted to look good but I needed to lose weight to be healthy.  I have the same mindset now.  While my weight is out of my control…healthy choices are mine to make.

This week I’m starting over.  It’s week one…well starting this past Saturday.  The first week of Weight Watchers I knew I needed a change and I made them.  They were dang hard and I slipped up…but my mind was in the game.  I may not get it right everyday but  I need the focus and direction.  I need it to help through the rough patches I can’t control to maintain sanity when it seems I have none. Smile

Like learning to ride a bike again I’m refocusing with diligence on the new Weight Watchers Points Plus and not using health as an excuse to slack.

  • I will look things up. Admittedly I’m a bit behind with a crazy busy work weekend.  But I wrote it all down and at with intention…now I will look the Points Plus values up and be accountable for what I put in my mouth.
  • I will read and re-learn. Autopilot with Weight Watchers or healthy living does me no good.  I am re-reading my materials and the handouts and web helps for both vegetarians and gluten free users.  I will read, and re-read them.  Knowledge is power and I purposely forgot some of the things in anger at my loss of control.
  • I will go to my meetings for support. I said it in my “Why Weight Watchers” guest post for WWchatonline.com – “Meeting support is invaluable.”  I’ve been avoiding meetings because I’m not where I should be and feel guilty for gaining what I lost.  I need the support of others who understand and will support not only my weight loss but also my non-scale victories like getting back to the gym after my ankle injury.
  • I will feed my hunger and not my emotions. Before my gluten diagnosis I didn’t crave cookies, cake, bread, etc.  Now I can’t get enough.  Colleen said it’s like craving something that has been taken away without my consent.  I’ll still enjoy a good Gluten free cupcake for a treat just not daily…that’s not a treat, that’s a habit.  I’ll show you my new sweet cue to stop triggers tomorrow.  A good friend was a great inspiration. Winking smile
  • I will appreciate fruits and vegetables. The crunch, the sweet, the snap.  I love the sounds and tastes of produce but forget to enjoy it with all the snacks around.  I will appreciate and take advantage of the zero Points Plus fruits and veggies when actually hungry for a snack.  I love them and not having to count them like I would with calorie counting encourages me to enjoy some radishes and kiwis for snacks instead of pretzels and potato chips.

So there you have it.  I was a before and then thought I was an after but realize I’m always a during.  I’ll always be working on me and my health with the ups and downs of life.  This week I choose to remember that and focus on what I can control instead of what I can’t.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/03/2011 8:38 AM

    Great post! We’re all always going to be working on ourselves, and you’re right, it is a roller coaster, and life is good if we appreciate it as such 🙂

    Sounds like you’re right on track to me!

    • 29/03/2011 12:15 PM

      I love roller coasters even if I scream my head off. I get back in line and do it again. I guess I take the same approach with life 🙂

  2. 29/03/2011 10:56 AM

    What a great post. I know I am a work in progress too. I have not been in the right mindset for a few weeks now due to both very good things and very stressful things. I am trying to make sure I am getting back on track myself.

    Today I will go to my Weight Watcher meeting and be held accountable. I really think it makes a difference in my week.

    My Fiance and I started the week off right last night by spending an hour on our bikes. It felt great to get a good sweat in.

    Good luck!

    • 29/03/2011 12:15 PM

      Thanks Diana! Yes both good things and bad things take our minds out of the game. But getting back in instead of giving up is key.

      Thanks for the reminder to get Hunni’s bike fixed. I need to call the repair shop. 🙂

  3. 29/03/2011 11:13 AM

    Cynthia im right with ya babe!! I too am a during or well a well before at this point… from the time I was sick and had already started to gain some of the weight i lost back ive put on 100+ lbs. Its no fun but I’m determined to get that numeber and go beyond to where I should be today.
    Last night I thought about it and I know that WWer works for me and decided to give the new program a try. I really dislike all the changes but I know it WILL be worth it !

  4. Erin permalink
    29/03/2011 12:21 PM

    Never be ashamed of yourself or your body for its changes! Life happens, bodies fluctuate. Even good intentions can sway us off course. If you can do it once, you can always do it again! You have an anonymous follower’s support 😀

    • 29/03/2011 12:24 PM

      Erin that is so sweet and really what I needed to hear. I forget that life happens at times and I’m not supposed to be perfect at it. THANKS!!!

  5. 29/03/2011 8:20 PM

    I love the concept of being a “during.”

  6. karen permalink
    30/03/2011 2:20 PM

    I wish I had the commitment you have! I have been trying to loose 20#’s I regained after loosing 40. How do you not listen to that voice in your head that says stay on the couch and watch tv instead of exercising? Am I the only one who hears it? How do you not eat when your hungry? And how do you stop yourself from eating even when your not hungry?

    • 30/03/2011 5:20 PM

      One day, one moment at a time. I sit and eat sometimes but I remember how I feel when I’m being healthy and keep going.

  7. 31/03/2011 5:29 PM

    “that’s not a treat, that’s a habit.”

    Couldn’t have said it better. This is something I struggle with, too. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. 1+1 doesn’t always equal 2….. | Sporks and Spoons
  2. This Is My Dare | Daring To Grow

Leave a Reply

