Skip to content

You Can Make It : Hummus

24/03/2011

I said it and I meant it.  Hummus is one of those recipes so simple you say you’ll make it but always put off.  I’ve been saying I’ll make hummus for years.  In fact I have four regular cans and one large can of garbanzo beans plus some dried I just bought.  I think I have a problem.

IMG_9090

I love garbanzos and could eat them for every meal but I love hummus more and eat it all the time.  It’s the spread on my sandwiches, a substitute for cheese in my egg wraps and the perfect dip for any vegetable.  I can eat a party-size container on my own in three days…and that’s being generous.

When Hunni goes to the grocery store he may forget everything else on the list, but not the hummus. Smile

IMG_9030IMG_9035

This week I bit the bullet and made my own.  To do so, Hunni promised not to buy another container until I’d made my own.  Now that I have, I don’t think we’ll be buying it too often this stuff was delicious.

IMG_9040IMG_9046

Hummus and Friends

IMG_9279

Basic hummus requires few ingredients.

  • 15 oz. can of garbanzos (chickpeas), drained with 1/4 cup liquid reserved. IMG_9093
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2-3 tbsp. Lemon Juice IMG_9125
  • 3 cloves garlic IMG_9097
  • 3 tbsp. Tahini – Hint: Microwave and stir to combine solid and oil

IMG_9152IMG_9176

  • Spices of choice

Instructions

Put it all together in the food presser and blend the heck out it.  Some prefer a smooth consistency while others like a few chunks.  Ratios can be adjusted to taste but it really was that easy.

IMG_9118

Tada basic garlic hummus!

IMG_9234

Then the fun began.

Add pitted Kalamata olives for Olive Hummus.

IMG_9240

A bit of canned artichoke hearts is great alone…or added with the olives.

IMG_9277

Finally spinach hummus.  Frozen or fresh spinach blended until it looked like St. Patty’s Day. Smile

IMG_9261

Homemade hummus was full of possibilities and so easy to make.  I could control the flavor and ingredients to make it stomach friendly and healthy beyond belief.

Bonus: I still have 4 regular cans left. Smile

IMG_9088

What simple food have you not tried to make at home?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. lauramich permalink
    24/03/2011 10:20 AM

    Oh, yeah, homemade hummus is one of my staples, and veggies + hummus one of my almost-daily snacks. As you’ve so deftly illustrated here, DIY hummus is simple, way less expensive than store-bought, and lends itself to almost endless variation. Lately I’ve been making mine with rosemary olive oil.

    I’m still intimidated by baking with yeast, so I’ve yet to tackle homemade pizza dough, though it’s on my cooking/baking “bucket list” (along with cinnamon rolls, at Teh Husband’s request). And although I’ll lose any foodie cred I have by admitting this, I don’t make my own stock … and have no particular interest in doing so. I’m happy to keep my pantry filled with Trader Joe’s organic low-sodium broth (which I buy at least a dozen of every time, since we don’t have a local TJ’s).

    • 24/03/2011 10:24 AM

      Stock is one of those things that people say is so worth it but I don’t have time time (read: patience) to make it. Besides I use veggie stock so it’s just easier to buy the boxes than wait until I have enough scraps.

      But enjoy the pizza dough. I made it for macaroon Monday and won’t go back to store bought. So much difference and you can make two pies of dough at a time. 🙂

  2. Erin permalink
    24/03/2011 12:16 PM

    I really need to buy a food processor. Like, right now! I can go through hummus as quickly as you, it’s so delicious!! I love dipping carrot sticks in. Yum!

    • 24/03/2011 5:46 PM

      My food processor is a life saver. I might have burnt it out making nut butter once 😉 Get thee one now 🙂

  3. 24/03/2011 5:19 PM

    Yum! I’ve never made my own, but have been intending to do so for a long time. This post seals the deal! Thanks for the suggestions of flavors. Olive and artichoke sounds delicious.

  4. 24/03/2011 8:47 PM

    Do you roast the garlic first or use it raw? The artichoke hearts are a great idea!

    • 24/03/2011 10:42 PM

      Either. If it is plain garlic hummus I roast it. If I’m adding other ingredients I use regular garlic. Roasting it brings out the sweetness of the garlic so you might need more lime or tahini.

  5. karen permalink
    25/03/2011 8:58 AM

    I never tried Hummus. Is it only for dipping vegies? Do I use it in place of mayo? Or do I just eat it with a spoon? Suggestions?

    • 25/03/2011 9:03 AM

      BOTH!!! I do use it in place of mayo because I like the flavor combination it brings. By the spoon is quite nice but I tend to use cucumbers of carrots as spoons. Although I will admit to licking the spoon after filling the containers for my fridge.

  6. Maggie permalink
    27/03/2011 1:22 PM

    Just made my firstever batch of Hummus! My hubby walked in the door and I asked if I could make his sandwich, he said yes, he’d have mayo, I said actually have some hummus, he LOVES it!! YAYA!!! It is mighty yummy!

Trackbacks

  1. Butt Meets Car Seat + Goals « It All Changes
  2. All My Kitchen Wants for Easter « It All Changes
  3. Sunday, Busy Sunday–Day 2 | Daring To Grow
  4. Monday Allergy Monday–Day 3 | Daring To Grow
  5. Hungry for Hummus « I Love FOOD Diet

Leave a Reply

