Skip to content

Healthy Habits : ICE

23/03/2011

In case of emergency.  Those three letters you never want to use but should be listed everywhere just in case. You don’t plan emergencies so it’s best to be prepared.

  • Phone – Most new cell phones have ICE contacts.IMG_9354Mine has space for three and medical professionals recommend you list them in the order you’d like them called.  IMG_9357If you have an older phone, make a listing for ICE and your contacts info.  IMG_9423
  • Current Medications List– No matter if you only take a multivitamin or a full pharmacy, you should carry a card with the medication names and dosages.  IMG_9083You probably have an excellent memory but in an emergency you might forget a prescription, or worst case, be unconscious.  Telling the ER staff “It’s a little green pill” doesn’t help…in fact I take two little green pills for very different conditions.  An old greeting card is perfect when laminated to list my medications and fit in my wallet.IMG_9086Things to include:
      • Date updated;
      • Dosages;
      • Conditions being treated (my Bipolar medications are typically used for epilepsy).

I update mine after major medication changes.  Temporary prescriptions are added in wet-erase marker.  I’m glad I this on Monday after a car accident.  With my nerves I couldn’t remember my medications.

  • Medical Alert ID – Anyone with major conditions such as allergies, mental illness, prescription interactions should wear a medical alert ID of some sort. I’ve failed miserably on this front.  Momma has been telling me to get one since I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder at 16.  I’m not a big jewelry person but it is becoming more apparent I need one in case of a medical emergency. Medical Alert ID’s now come in a wide variety than traditional bracelets I don’t like. traditional medYep vanity was my big reason for not getting one. Now with all the options I’m overwhelmed.  I appreciate that my health status can now be a piece of lovely, and affordable, jewelry instead of a neon sign that says “I’m Sick”.

So help me choose.  Below are my favorites which can be customized for my conditions.

med banglemed cuff

Tribal Design Cuff                                                         Simple Silver Cuff

med wristrubber med alert

Simple Silver Bangle                                                Navy Blue Rubber (great for exercising)

(all above are from Amazon)

  • etsy allergies dog alert

Stacked Allergy Pendant (Etsy source) Dog Tag Style Alert Pendant (Etsy source)

I have pros and cons for all of them but I would be happy with any of them.  Help me choose.

Which do you prefer? HELP!!

Don’t forget to make your own In Case of Emergency contact and medical information available.  I pray you never need them in an emergency but want you to have the available if you do.

Do you have your emergency info easily available?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    23/03/2011 9:24 AM

    I like the simple silver bangle the best, but they’re all really nice! I actually just bought myself a ID bracelet from Road ID. I don’t have any medical conditions or allergies, but have been running more often by myself & realized that my cell phone might end up lost if something happened to me, whereas a bracelet would stay on me. I have my name, town that i live in, husband’s phone number, parent’s phone number, health insurance info & blood type on there. I’ve been wearing it 24/7 & barely notice it’s there anymore.

    • 23/03/2011 6:55 PM

      I love the Road ID’s and thought of getting one. But then it wouldn’t match with work uniform and for going out. Perhaps I should get both 🙂

  2. 23/03/2011 9:45 AM

    It’s always good to be prepared, in case of any kind of emergency. Great tips! I really need to do more to have my emergency information readily available to whomever may need it.

  3. Mary Blair permalink
    23/03/2011 12:19 PM

    I like the Tribal Design Cuff or the plain one right next to it. Nice to see they finally have them looking fashionable.

    • 23/03/2011 6:57 PM

      I agree on making them fashionable. At 16 I hated the idea of having to wear one and now I’m enjoying picking one out.

  4. 23/03/2011 1:08 PM

    I like the simple silver cuff because it is exactly that- simple, understated and chic. I don’t really like anything too out there and I think that blends nicely and doesn’t scream “I’m sick!!”

    I have people listed under ICE in my phone and I wear a road id. I guess I’m pretty good, right?

  5. Jenna permalink
    24/03/2011 9:14 AM

    Ummm, totally off topic here, but you’re one of the only people I know who has a fantastic driver’s license picture! Your hair is good, you’re not squinting, blinking, or making a face…I’m jealous!!

  6. 24/03/2011 9:23 AM

    those are good ideas.

    ps- we have the same phone. LG Octane?

    • 24/03/2011 10:08 AM

      Thanks. I think that’s the name of the phone. I told the guy I wanted the same phone I had before…this was the most similar.

  7. 24/03/2011 11:05 PM

    i LOVE the simple silver bangle!

    and i already have ICE contacts in my phone. hopefully they never have to be used!

  8. Toni permalink
    28/03/2011 7:23 PM

    If you haven’t already, check out Lauren’s Hope for medical bracelets, etc. They have a huge selection of pretty ID bracelets with beads and fashionable designs. And if you don’t see anything you like, they are really great working with you to customize something perfect.

    • 28/03/2011 10:10 PM

      Thank you so much for the recommendation. I want something I’m actually going to wear so I will definitely check it out. A medical alert bracelet does me no good if I don’t wear it.

Leave a Reply

