Skip to content

It’s Official : Cell Phone Edition

19/03/2011

I didn’t use or own a cell phone until I was 21 and studying in Spain.  The kids I work with think I’m nuts because they own them at 8.  My study abroad program gave them to us and we had to buy minutes so we would always have contact with out English-speaking hosts and school.

Yeah right! We called our friends and to arrange meeting times at the restaurant or disco.  So easy and carefree to not use a pay phone or wait by the phone for the cute boy you met to call.

There was a learning curve on how to text or load minutes – in Spain then you bought them at the OpenCor, think 7/11.  My phone was almost always on me and I loved it…cute little blue thing, easily lost in my pocket or left at school.  But I learned the joy of a movil and instant contact.

voda phone

Like this but blue.

Then I came back to the states.  My regular college didn’t hand out free cell phones and I was broke.  Back to waiting by the phone for cute boys. Winking smile

After my first paycheck as an employed teacher I headed straight to the Verizon store and picked out my first real cell phone.  With my schedule I was never home and saw no need for a land line.

LG

(source)

I still forgot my phone at home when I left half asleep for school or church.  No one was calling that couldn’t wait.  Did I want to be available 24/7?

Now 8 years and three phones later I’m addicted.  Hunni was doing laundry yesterday and accidentally picked up my phone that had fallen onto the floor.  I think you see where this is going…yep, straight into the wash.  As he transferred the clothes to the dryer my phone fell out a soggy mess.  Sad smile

I tried drying it in rice like I’ve seen many other laundry challenged bloggers do.

IMG_8726

Today it turned on but the front screen was grey…not a happy color. Add to that the battery barely held a charge. I’d just started to like that phone.

I wanted to text friends about weekend plans but the phone was dead.  I thought about calling them…but I don’t know the numbers, my phone does.  I wanted to call 411 for the number to a restaurant to make reservations, but my van doesn’t understand when I talk to it…I need Kit.

It’s official, I’m addicted to my cell phone and felt lost without it.  Time for an upgrade.

The fantastic man at Verizon, Dully, helped me upgrade to and pick a snazzy purple case.

IMG_8719

He also gave me tips on avoiding speeding tickets one the Mass Pike when I travel to Boston.  That’s what I call service.

Here’s to my new phone, Grimace, and hoping I don’t get too addicted to him, or at least the McDonald’s character he’s named after.

grimace

When did you get your first cell phone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/03/2011 8:56 AM

    I got my first cell phone the Christmas of 9th grade.. I was involved in a lot of school activities so it was just easier this way to contact my family when I needed rides and such.. So I was 15 when I got my first cell phone! Now, we only have cell phones and no land line.

    • 19/03/2011 9:23 AM

      That would have been a good idea for my family. I was here there and everywhere for activities and often hitched rides home with church friends who were also in the activities. :=)

Leave a Reply

