Skip to content

Nookie

15/03/2011

Get your mind out of the gutter.  I’m married, but this post is about something else.  Come on, Momma reads the blog.

I’m talking about my nook.

IMG_8432

Christmas I long gone but I’m loving my gift.  Unlike childhood gifts tossed aside the next day – my nook is a constant companion.

IMG_7129IMG_7737

My nook makes me more productive…at least that’s what I tell myself.

  • Perfect hairstyling tool. I read while blow drying or curling my hair because it takes time.  I’m normally a wash and go girl.  When I do style my hair it’s great to get in a few more pages.
  • Welcomed distraction on the bike or treadmill. On activate rest days I need a reminder to slow down.  Instead of junk TV my nook helps me multitask.
  • All recipe books in one. IMG_6799 Nook-i.e. provide quick recipes searches and highlighting/bookmarking.  In my kitchen the easy spill clean up is also a plus.  My old recipe books satisfy whole meals if I ate the pages.
  • Simple library download…for FREE!!!! Bonus tip: Trick the 14 day return policy by turning off the wi-fi –i.e. airplane mode.  The book is available to others but you can take your time finishing.
  • Hiding books. I don’t want to be seen reading some books ::cough:: Kendra Wilkinson’s Memoir, Bonk, etc. ::cough:: Nook-i.e. keeps them hidden from snoopers while traveling or in waiting rooms.
  • Gateway drug to an iPad. IMG_7747I’m smart phone-less for a reason – i.e. broke – but accessing the internet from a wi-fi hotspots without bringing my laptop is nice.  Surfing is great but tweeting is hard.
  • Fits in my purse with all my other junk. IMG_8294Just look at the difference with just 3 books! IMG_8291Nook-i.e. has over 30 books on it now.  While out I can flip between books or pick a recipe for dinner.  Plus it saves my back from purse overload.
  • Quick food references. When I forget my grocery list it’s a quick reference for recipes or my Gluten Free Guide.  Save my butt…and stomach.

Extra Bonus: I chose a gorgeous cover…if I do say so myself.  Most author’s can’t do that for their own books.  I think mine is pretty awesome.

IMG_8433IMG_8434

I love nook-i.e. and so does Leo.

IMG_7729IMG_7130

Are you a fan of e-readers?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/03/2011 2:22 PM

    I absolutely adore my kindle! I love your cover- it is so cute!

    • 16/03/2011 2:41 PM

      Thanks Katie. I spent more time picking out the cover than I did debating getting a nook 🙂

  2. 15/03/2011 2:23 PM

    i’m soooooo tempted to get a nook! i read so much & i love buying books but don’t love storing them. do you ever miss turning real pages though?

    • 16/03/2011 2:41 PM

      I only miss turning real pages every now and again. Some books are huge and hard to hold or spines of books don’t stay open making it difficult to read. Also if I fall asleep with a real book I lose my place…the nook holds it for me. 🙂

  3. 15/03/2011 7:02 PM

    I actually read books on my iPhone with the Kindle App. I love having it wherever I go, and I can read in the dark while my husb is watching tv (or sleeping). I’ve read more books in ages because of the convenience.

    • 16/03/2011 2:39 PM

      I hear lots of people love the apps. I have the B&N Nook for PC because it holds my place where I’m at on my nook so I can read it when I’m the office if I have down time.

  4. 16/03/2011 5:43 AM

    Ive had an ereader since they were hugggge and clunky (1997) and have oft jested Id marry mine if I could.

    more truth is said in jest 🙂

    • 16/03/2011 2:38 PM

      So funny. I never thought I’d like an e-reader until I got one and now I take it everywhere 🙂

  5. 16/03/2011 7:43 AM

    I use my Kindle app when working out all the time. It definitely makes the workout go faster…and you’re right!! It’s better than watching junk TV. Plus, it still allows me to listen to the music I want to on the same device 🙂

  6. 16/03/2011 5:54 PM

    I’ve been a little anti-ereader because I just love the smell of books and the feel of them.

    But now I’ve heard so many awesome things about them, that I’m becoming more pro-ereader. I’m sure I’ll end up getting one. I don’t know if I have any more space for books. Lol

    • 16/03/2011 8:37 PM

      I still love a real book every now and again but I check them out of the library to get my fix. 🙂

      I definitely don’t has space for more books. They get heavy each time I have to move them.

Trackbacks

  1. How is 2011 Going? « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

