Skip to content

Rice Cooker Jambalaya–Recipe

09/03/2011

* With a quick dinner like this you have time to enter my giveaway for the Mat & More DVD.

Entries close at midnight Thursday March 10, 2011.  Check out this post for how to enter.*

 

 

My rice cooker is a lifesaver. On busy days I enjoy throwing ingredients in and seeing what awaits when the lid is opened.  It’s always more than brown rice and quinoa.  My two favorites are steel cut oats and jambalaya.

IMG_7187

Kindergarten through second grade – or at least the first third of it Winking smile – I lived in Louisiana…if you remember my accent vlog I say Lou-see-ana as a relic of my time .  Jambalaya is sport in the south.  Spicy, ricey and fabulous.

However traditional jambalaya is full of seafood and sausage.  Big no-no’s for me and I definitely don’t have all day to cook this wonder food.
This version is a veggie jambalaya easily set up in the rice cooker before work and ready to eat when I walk in the door.  This meal is perfect because I always have the ingredients in my pantry/freezer.

Rice Cooker Jambalaya

IMG_7152

Ingredients

  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed (or made from scratch)
  • 1 can diced chilies
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 peppers– I like color but green works fine.
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1 1/4 cups brown rice
  • 2 bouillon cubes – I used gluten free veggie
  • 12 oz. water (If you substitute broth, eliminate the bouillon cubes)
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil

Instructions

Chop peppers and onion to same size pieces.  IMG_7158Add all ingredients to rice cooker.  IMG_7161

Set timer and go.

IMG_6694

Open lid and enjoy!

IMG_7184

Do you use your rice cooker for more than rice?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. actorsdiet permalink
    09/03/2011 12:11 PM

    brilliant. though my rice cooker doesn’t have a timer!

  2. 10/03/2011 1:00 AM

    I have a rice cooker that I rarely use- this would be great!

    • 10/03/2011 1:13 PM

      I felt guilty asking for a rice cooker on our wedding registry…so I had to learn ways to use it for more than rice. 🙂 Good Luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Betty’s Cajun Shrimp and Sausage Jambalaya Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

