Skip to content

Shrinking My Jeans

03/03/2011

I hated jeans for most of middle school, high school and college.  Not because they were uncool but because they dug into my stomach.  I was trying to squeeze into the cute girl jeans when my body shape did not fit size 5/7/9.  Having to buy boys husky jeans as a young girl with hips didn’t help either.

Instead I brushed it off as being European saying they weren’t my thing.  I convinced myself this was true.  No one in Germany or Spain wore them so why should I? Now in my late 20’s I only own two pair.  The ones I love and the one that fit now.

Colleen from The Fit Bee has become a great new friend through #wwchat. If you are twitter and doing Weight Watchers come join us on Thursdays from 8.30 to 9.30 pm EST. (Yep that’s tonight!) Colleen and Brittany had an awesome idea that acts as my second meeting of the week as a pick me up.

Even better Colleen is part of The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans (including totally awesome dudes like Ryan from No More Bacon).  A great network of people looking to expand their horizons and shrink their jean’s size.  More importantly they offer challenges.  I’m always up for a good challenge and it worked out perfect for my March fitness challenge.

Spring-Into-Action1-01

For the next six week’s my partner Lisa and I will spring into action with healthy living and trying for 100 push ups.  I recently learned how to do a real push up so 100 will be a fun challenge.  I’m keeping up with Weight Watchers to get back to my happy weight and this challenge is a perfect push in the right direction.

I’m not going to post my start weight because numbers can trigger me and I don’t wish to cause any distress to my readers.  Each week on Wednesdays I’ll let you know how I’m doing.  I don’t back down from a challenge so this should be fun.

Want to join? Head on over and sign up.  You don’t even need a blog…and they can even find you a partner. Smile

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/03/2011 4:43 PM

    I was the same way in highschool. Jeans NEVER fit my body right. It was embarrassing and shopping for clothes was a devastating experience. I wore a lot of slacks and cords instead. Anything loose fitting. Not exactly attractive either….

    • 03/03/2011 9:30 PM

      I was always in dress pants…even in High School. Made it easy when trasitioning to work wear since I didn’t have to buy many new pants.

  2. 03/03/2011 6:22 PM

    I’ve felt the same way about jeans my whole life, except for a small period of time last year when I was at a decent weight and didn’t mind wearing them. When I was in high school, I hated wearing them so much that as soon as I would get home from school, I would change into my pajamas!

    • 03/03/2011 9:27 PM

      PJ’s were my uniform in high school and college. I hated having to put on normal clothes for classes.

  3. Mom permalink
    03/03/2011 6:26 PM

    military style pushup on your toes or girly ones on the knees

    • 03/03/2011 9:25 PM

      I want to do as many as I can on my toes but I know many will be modified toe pushups. I’m not joining the Army so no need to be a perfectionist.

  4. 03/03/2011 7:23 PM

    I love these challenges!!! Especially the team challenges! I’m such a team player! So fun 🙂 PS– Colleen and I both came up with the idea of WWCHAT!!! Yay for fabulous ideas and making fabulous friends!

Leave a Reply

