Skip to content

Pantry Week + Goals

28/02/2011

*Confession: I typed “panty” week and couldn’t figure out what was wrong…darn spell check was no help either.  Hunni pointed out the mistake just before I hit publish.  Phewww that was close…except I just told you. Ooops. Winking smile*

I’ve heard people say they can’t eat healthy because it’s expensive.  I disagree, for the most part.  No need for organic this, vegan that, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.  My food costs shrunk buying fruits/veggies/lean protein/etc. instead of my typical Velveeta Shells & Cheese and Snickers Ice Cream Bars.

Yet some of my favorite healthy things don’t work with my new restrictions.  In a panic I purchased a pantry full of premade goodies and replacement so I wouldn’t starve. I forgot most of my food was already allergen free. My budget suffered with each new purchase and my pantry was stocked to the gills.  Not a good way to show healthy living doesn’t mean empty wallets.

IMG_5313

The panic has ended but the food is still there. During Eat In (more) Month I overcompensated with grocery shopping.

Time for a personal challenge…Eat from the pantry week.

Bring on the interesting – hopefully edible – meals

IMG_6290

There are a few exceptions:

  1. Fresh Fruit and Veggies. I only buy what I can eat in a week so I have to purchase some thing…however my freezer has many things so I’ll keep it to a minimum.
  2. Date Night with Hunni. We have this planned so we are going to enjoy it.  Besides it allows me to practice asking for what I need while eating out.
  3. Dairy.  Hunni only eats cereal for breakfast and I use alternatives for many meals.  So we need a gallon for him – yes he drinks that much – and I need a container of Hemp milk for breakfasts.  But I won’t purchase ice cream, coconut creamer or coconut yogurt.  I don’t need them.

Last Week’s Goals:

  • Run, baby, run. Darn snow storm foiled my plans to run outside but that didn’t deter me.  Neither did the kick butt workout at boot camp. Two weeks down and I’m loving it!  Perhaps the Boilermaker this summer?
  • Make pantry list. Oh boy I have a lot of stuff.  Ooooof!  This sparked my desire to eat out of the pantry this week instead of grocery shopping yet again.  Yeah for Google Spreadsheets.
  • Stretch and bend. Is it possible to be too sore to stretch? My boot camp trainer killed me and I barely moved from bed for 2 days.  The weekend brought yoga redemption and my foam roller and I are friend.  I’m very thankful Runner’s World said the second week is the worst for soreness.  I don’t know if I could take this sore again.
  • Track it all. Uh oh.  I forgot about this until it posted.  Ooops.  My memory is not as good as I thought.  Now I carry my little notebook to write food down if I’m out or use my camera phone for a quick pic as a memory. All was more like “what I remember.”  Need to get back in the habit.
  • Read and relax. The president’s were nice to give me the day off and the snow storm provided a reason to sleep in on Friday.  I’ll update the “reading” bit this week. Winking smile

This Week’s Goals:

  • Eat from the pantry. Well duh I told you this at the top.  My pantry list makes this easier.  So will hiding the debit cards when I’m hungry.
  • Run outside. This depends on the weather but I’m itching for fresh air.  I prefer smelling the trail air instead of my sweat – and everyone else’s sweat – in the gym.  My lungs need to expand and I need to practice on earth that doesn’t move for me.
  • Pre-make breakfasts. My go to breakfasts were always easy quick and not so yummy in my tummy now.  RD Katie gave me some great ideas for make ahead breakfasts that I’m trying out this week so I don’t skip breakfast or send Hunni to grab stuffed grape leaves before I starve.
  • Plan my race calendar. My 10K is set…as in I’ve registered and made plans with friends.  I don’t want it to be my only race this season so I need to plan them out with both budget and time.  I’m limited to Saturday races – being a pastor I don’t get many Sundays off – so I’m on a hunt.  Vacation races are nice but I also want to run some nearby this year as well.
  • Measure and track. Eating in this week and from the pantry will make it easier to measure.  I did best with weight loss and maintenance when I measured my portions.  My eyeballs don’t make great measuring cups so need to be more intentional about my portion sizes than I have been lately.
  • Be intentional. I’ve been winging it.  Big 747 jet wings attached to my back.  I thought I had it all figured out with weight loss, exercising, time management, etc.  Lately I’ve felt rushed and tripping over my own two feet to fit it all in.  I have the tools for a happy life but I need to be intentional about using them.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/02/2011 8:46 AM

    It’s amazing, too, how many meals you can base around fresh produce. When I receive CSA shares (May-November), my grocery budget drops dramatically because I base all of my meals around the fresh produce that needs to be eaten ASAP. I don’t even *want* to eat out because I know all those gorgeous greens and what-not will just go bad if I don’t eat them, and then it’s a waste of money.

    • 28/02/2011 9:07 AM

      Exactly. If we don’t move I want to join a CSA for that reason and also to force me to experiment with things I might not buy otherwise.

  2. 28/02/2011 9:00 AM

    Haha, best part of this post? Your panty week confession :]

    Have a great Monday!!

    • 28/02/2011 9:09 AM

      The worst part is I alway misspell it like that. I almost put that on community brochures for our food pantRY and didn’t notice until after I printed the first 100. 🙂

  3. 28/02/2011 9:19 AM

    Honestly, panty week made my Monday morning 🙂

    A pantry list is a great idea!

  4. 28/02/2011 1:03 PM

    I agree that eating healthy doesn’t have to be more expensive! Sometimes I have to remember that buying store brands for certain products really isn’t any different than buying a name brand. We tend to by produce every two or three days so we don’t buy too much that will go bad. I have to learn to plan my meals a little bit better, but in general, I just try not to keep to many temptations in my house that I know will tempt me to make unhealthy choices.

    I also have to track my food right away or I always forget to add something! 🙂

    Hope you have a great week and you guys have a good date night!!

    • 28/02/2011 1:14 PM

      Since I started eating more local fruit I buy every few days. It doesn’t go bad that way.

      Also store brands are great. I love store brand canned goods especially because they are always on sale for 10/$10 🙂

  5. 28/02/2011 7:23 PM

    I’m always encouraging my parents to eat from the pantry. I always eat what we have, but they are so bad about it! A lot of things that they buy I don’t like / can’t eat them, so I don’t want to see them go to waste.

  6. 28/02/2011 10:30 PM

    i love your goal posts. you inspired me to set some goals tomorrow – hint: i’m stealing your pantry list goal – i’m moving in 1.5 months and my pantry is FULL!

Trackbacks

  1. Rice Cooker Jambalaya–Recipe « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

