Skip to content

Student Becomes the Teacher

24/02/2011

*Hear ye, Hear Ye.  The lovely Carla of Miz Fit Online is running a post I wrote today. Head on over.  I’m honored this is the second (and a half) time she’s shared her space.   Love her more each day…cutie Tornado and funny Ren Man don’t hurt either.*

In 2004 I decided enough was enough.  My body couldn’t take any more of the weight I added… time to subtract the pounds.  The internet and calorie counting were simple switches I could do alone but the gym was entirely different.

How do you turn on the treadmill, use the weights or weight machines, what step size do I need for class? I was intimidated beyond belief.  I didn’t belong and my anxiety almost kept me from going…almost.  I struggled to go each day because I wasn’t coordinated/strong/fast/or even good.

Yet I kept going, day after day.  I progressed from step class on the floor to the high step, Barbie weights to heavy weights

pink handweightshandweights

From walking in my neighborhood to running races for fun.

quarter marathon 005

I even took yoga learning basic poses, sun salutations and flows and hired a trainer for a short time to learn proper lifting form.  Yet I still thought I was a novice.

I had no idea how far I’d come…everyone was better than me.  Then I met Heather.

*Note: She told me to say this.*

The things I thought were basic knowledge astonished her.  This past weekend she must have said “Show me that again” over and over and over and over – okay the last over might be an exaggeration.  Simple modifications helped improve her workout and reminded me I’ve learned more than I give myself credit.

Still a student but now a teacher I’ve come so far from the girl who was afraid to try the gym.  Now I’m excited to try these new toys.

IMG_7884

Give yourself a compliment on your fitness in the comments.  We all need a reminder of how far we’ve come.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/02/2011 8:45 AM

    hmm is it bad Im the first commenter?
    first thank YOU for the post today.
    so universal.
    so well written.

    my compliment to me is that Ive not given up.
    with my myriad weird backbooty ailment (ones that are supposed to only happen to hard core runners. I was running about a mile a…month when it happened :)) Ive just backed up & reapproached/changed my routine.

    Im proud of that.

    • 24/02/2011 9:43 AM

      I love that you are the first commenter 🙂 Thank you again for running the post.

      I’m extremely impressed that you keep going with your bootyback problems. I watched a comedy sketch by Sinbad recently about said “problem” and it sounded bad. You keep it up!

  2. 24/02/2011 10:18 AM

    My compliment to myself is that I see myself getting stronger every work out I do. I went from where a mile tired me out and now I’m doing run/walk intervals of 2.5-3miles. That really is awesome, and something to be proud of, even if I can’t run a mile all on my own yet, its ok because only 6 months ago walking just one mile wore me out.

  3. 24/02/2011 2:13 PM

    I get amazed at how far I have come too. I’m going to compliment myself for taking on running despite my old fears of it. And that I love it now!

    • 24/02/2011 6:56 PM

      I used to despise running and now I love it. I enjoy people who’ve been there too 🙂

  4. 24/02/2011 6:00 PM

    You have come so far, you should be very proud of yourself 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. THS Weekend TDL » Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

