Skip to content

Bliss Bites Back

22/02/2011

Ice cream was a big part of my childhood.  Family reunions put the 15 grandkids to work on hand cranked ice cream for dessert. techtest_icecream

(source)

Trips to my grandparents’ home meant trips to the local ice cream parlor with small cones the size of baseballs.

Momma treated my brother and I to Spaghetti Eis [German Spaghetti Ice Cream] on fun family Saturdays.

Not to mention celebrating the first winter snow with snow cream or science experiments with coffee can ice cream.

Yet while I loved ice cream it doesn’t love me back and I miss it.  It’s a chore to find a me friendly non-dairy ice cream.  I would give my kingdom left foot dogs, uh something for a good ice cream.  I considered investing in an ice cream attachment to my Kitchen Aid…then Hunni pointed out Coconut Bliss.  Eagerly I flipped it over and saw the ingredients list of my dreams.

nutritionals

Words I could read, pronounce, and find in my grocery store.  Hallelujah…Ice Cream has returned to the It All Changes household.  Open-mouthed smile

Served in a bowl would have been perfect – I ate it straight from the container to taste – but adding just a bit to warm desserts is heaven.

First ginger molasses cookie bars with Vanilla Island Coconut Bliss and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  I snapped the pictures quickly before Hunni ran away to devour it.

IMG_7812

I’m also a big chocolate fan with vanilla ice cream.  I started with Evan’s Better Than Box Mix Brownies and then tweaked them to make…

Peanut Butter Apple Brownies

Adapted from The Wannabe Chef

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup flour (I used King Arthur Flour’s gluten-free all-purpose)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 oz.  or 1/2 cup bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate (I prefer bittersweet)
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 apple, small dice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 egg

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt chocolate and peanut butter with apple sauce.  Resist the urge to eat this mixture on it’s own.
  2. Add to mixer and combine with the water, sugar, extract, salt, and cocoa powder.
  3. Sift in the flour and baking powder.  Add apple and mix until just combined.
  4. Bake in a greased 8×8 pan for 25 minutes until center is just set.  Let cool, then cut.

Okay it was hard to wait for the pan to cool.  I took the first piece and topped with Vanilla Island.

IMG_7942

Chocoholic Hunni added Dark Chocolate Coconut Bliss to his and licked the plate clean.  I hid the container in the freezer so I could get more later.

Okay wipe the drool off your chin and head to the store.  Vegan, lactose intolerant, or just looking for a fantastic treat…any excuse works for quality dessert made with a quality product.

What is your favorite ice cream memory?

*Coconut Bliss is a division of Luna and Larry’s.  The products were free the but opinions are mine.  In my opinion I have two more pints in my freezer “for emergency purposes.”*

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/02/2011 10:20 AM

    i have so many ice cream memories! i guess the one that really pops out into my head would be shopping at my hometown’s tiny strip mall with my dad and my sister for my mom’s birthday present when my sister and i were little. there was an ice cream parlor in the mall and my dad always let my sister and i get some. and we ALWAYS got the bubble gum flavor, which had little chicklets gum in it! 🙂

  2. 22/02/2011 11:27 AM

    oh my gosh… ice cream… yum. Thats my danger food, well one of them, so I don’t keep any in the house any more except very occassionaly and it’s one of those tiny tiny ben and jerry cups. Or I share with the bfriend. My church growing up had an ice cream social every summer, it was fantastic. All the ladies would have their ice cream makers out and it was delish. I remember sitting on the stoop at church with my friends sharing flavors. My older sis worked at an ice cream shop one summer as well and my dad would walk with my other sister and me there and we would get a scoop. LOVE that.

    • 22/02/2011 11:30 AM

      I understand that ice cream can be a danger food. I don’t keep a ton on hand but it is a nice easy dessert for me since I’m allergic to so many traditional desserts.

      Ice cream socials sound fabulous. Especially with homemade flavors.

  3. 22/02/2011 11:37 AM

    Mmm, yep – coconut bliss is AWESOME!!

    I had the same “ice cream childhood” – the whole family would get together at my great grandma’s house in the summer, and we’d make ice cream with that old fashioned kind of maker… I loved going to the store with my uncle to pick up the ice and the salt! good memories…

    • 22/02/2011 11:57 AM

      I love those memories so much I’ve tried to see if I can make it with coconut milk in a hand crank.

      Coconut Bliss has been my ice cream dream lifesaver 🙂

  4. 22/02/2011 5:56 PM

    I really want to make my own ice cream- I even have an ice cream maker I’ve never used! I’ve been buying store bought ice cream lately. Not the healthiest stuff in the world!

  5. 22/02/2011 8:11 PM

    Yum, I need to slip some peanut butter into my brownies.
    I love Coconut Bliss. I wish I had the freezer space for it and it weren’t 20 degrees out. I’ll just have to make up for lost time over the summer.

    • 22/02/2011 8:13 PM

      You could store it outside your window and then snuggle up with warm brownies to eat it 🙂

  6. 22/02/2011 9:52 PM

    Yum! Yum! I’m so glad that you found an ice cream that you love!!

    • 23/02/2011 9:48 AM

      Thanks Diane! I love it A LOT! I keep it hidden in the freezer from myself and from Hunni 🙂

  7. 23/02/2011 12:30 PM

    Oh ice cream. Unfortunately, it’s too cold here in Vermont for me to enjoy ice cream properly right now. Those PB Apple Brownies sound divine!

Trackbacks

  1. Alphabet Me « It All Changes
  2. Signaling the End « It All Changes
  3. This Is My Dare | Daring To Grow

Leave a Reply

