Skip to content

Not A Problem at New World Bistro Bar

18/02/2011

“Not a problem.” is not a not a phrase that I use or hear often.  Stress is my middle name.  Lately eating out is a huge source of anxiety with my food allergies. However I love my #CDNY girls and relish chances to enjoy a night out with them. 

Last Friday was super special because Kelly had flown in from Wisconsin for work and Julie made the trek from Ithaca.  I couldn’t let my stress get the better of me.

group shot

Since meeting Lauren she’s raved about New World Bistro Bar and it was infectious.  Friday I had the chance to try it out as 15 of us met for dinner. 

Not only was this a chance to spend time with friends, old and new, it was a perfect time to try my new skills…asking for what I need when eating out.  Not something I’m good at, but NWBB made it super simple. 

The day before our dinner I spoke to the manager, Zoe, about their special gluten free menu and accommodating my other allergies.  Zoe put my fears at ease letting me know that their gluten-free and vegan menus were prepared in a separate kitchen space to prevent cross-contamination. All their servers are also trained to deal with allergen issues so I could eat and enjoy.

That brings me to Mike D…or as Katie called him, “Captain Awesome!”  He was the best server I’ve had in any restaurant.  When I asked for a gluten-free menu I let him know I was soy-free and dairy-free as well.  Having looked at the menu ahead of time I planned on ordering the Gluten-Free Veggie Tapas and Cajun Blackened String Beans for an appetizer. 

IMG_0247

Mike went above and beyond as he, and the kitchen staff, read the labels on the ingredients for every component in those dishes.  Some contained soy bean oil so the staff created a specialty tapas plate with some of the best food I’ve ever eaten.

tapas plate

Everything was mouthwatering and I didn’t leave a speck on the plate.  The sweet potato mash was mesmerizing and I will figure it out to make at home.  I noted a touch of lemon and either sage or thyme.  There will definitely be experimenting in the kitchen…until then I’ll have to go back and keep taste testing. Smile

Mike provided each and every member of our party such attentive service that we were able to sit back and enjoy the fantastic conversation and fun.  He even took the perfect picture at the top of the post. 

NWBB table

With service and food like this at New World Bistro Bar why wouldn’t we want to go back even with an hour drive from Massachusetts?

Emily and I have plans to go back and bring our husbands, of course. I know Lauren and her husband Shawn are always up for an evening at NWBB.  She says she’s “Never had a bad thing on the menu” and I believe her…have you ever read her blog?

It’s not often I can eat out without worrying about hidden ingredients that might make me sick but at New World Bistro Bar I know this isn’t a problem.  They go above and beyond to let each diner know they are important and should enjoy every second of their dining experience.

Thank you Chef Ric Orlando, Zoe, Mike D and all the wonderful people at New World Bistro Bar…I’ll be sure to make a reservation for our next meal soon.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/02/2011 10:53 PM

    That’s so cool that they were able to accommodate you! I’m way too shy to ever ask about special dishes at restaurants, but you’ve given me the confidence to 🙂

    • 19/02/2011 8:55 AM

      Once you get over the fear they will spit in your food it’s fantastic. Just kidding. Servers are generally more happy if they know what you need than if you leave upset or sick.

  2. 19/02/2011 8:26 AM

    We should seriously make a date, sooner rather than later.
    And what about the farmers market? :-p

  3. 19/02/2011 1:04 PM

    Great review! Your green bean appetizer was so good, thanks for sharing 😀

    • 19/02/2011 10:05 PM

      They were fantastic…just enough spice to clear your sinuses without making you cry. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Just A Simple Nickel + Goals « It All Changes
  2. How is 2011 Going? « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

