Skip to content

Is That A Cabbage Patch–Recipe

17/02/2011

When you visit family what do you bring as a gift? Momma brings a head of cabbage. Open-mouthed smile

IMG_6415

She’s a doll does her darndest to keep up with what I can eat just as much as I can.  The dilemma was I’d only seen cabbage as cold slaw at summer BBQ’s – ick – and stuffed covered in tomato sauce which I don’t quite remember except the many, many steps it takes to prepare.

A quick Google search revealed you can braise cabbage.  Oooooooo…I’d only seen braising on TOP CHEF…and I love TOP CHEF.  Time for operation braised cabbage.

Braised Cabbage

IMG_6411

Ingredients

  • One head of cabbage
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • Spices of choice – I chose roasted red pepper, dried basil and oregano and crushed black pepper [note: Don’t go too heavy-handed on things like red pepper flakes…you might lose your tongue. Smile with tongue out]
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 cups vegetable broth

Instructions

  1. Heat olive oil in stock pot over medium heat.  Add garlic and sauté until fragrant…i.e. the vampires run and hide. Add spices and stir until they smell…in a good way. IMG_6414
  2. Meanwhile, shred cabbage.  Remove outer leaves that are brown or floppy. Think of them as a protective layer for the cabbage patch underneath. Then with a sharp knife cut head in half and then half again length-wise.  Slowly shred cabbage in small ribbons.  IMG_6417Shredding isn’t just for Jillian you know. Smile
  3. Add cabbage to pot and stir to incorporate spices and oil.  Saute for approximately 3 minutes.
  4. Finally add broth to pot and cover to cook until all broth is gone and cabbage is tender.  You may need a bit more broth if your cabbage is still a bit stiff.  Don’t worry it will soften into yummy goodness.IMG_6423It turns translucent to signal the time to eat it straight from the pot…uh I mean serve.

Now I’m one step closer to TOP CHEF…one tiny step, but a step none-the-less.  Besides it makes a great base for chili leftovers.

What is one cooking technique you’ve wanted to try but is intimidating?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/02/2011 8:58 AM

    Yes! Braised cabbage tastes SO good — we often use it in stir fries! It’s a great way to get flavorful nutrition. Slaw isn’t really my favorite thing, so this is my main way to eat cabbage.

    I’ve always been intimidated by steaming — especially when it comes to making dumplings. All I could imagine is a sticky mess of falling apart dumplings. I tried it over New Year’s, though, and lined my pan with parchment paper! Works like a charm — no sticking, and the parchment doesn’t impede the steaming.

    • 17/02/2011 10:02 AM

      Braised Cabbage was so easy after I did it that I wondered why I had never tried it before. I guess because it was a chef word 🙂

      I’m afraid of stuffing them because you have to boil the cabbage first and the stuffing often contains meat that I can’t eat. But I have seen it done well by older family members and it intrigues me to try with lentil and brown rice stuffing.

      • Laura permalink
        17/02/2011 11:31 AM

        Stuffing is super easy. You just steam a head for a few minutes inside down in a pot of water until the leaves are pliable. Make a stuffing out of rice, quinoa or a grain and add beans or lentils! You can add sauted celery, onions, garlic, whatever to the mixture. If you can eat tomato sauce just pour some tomato sauce over the rolls and bake in the oven!

  2. Laura permalink
    17/02/2011 11:27 AM

    One if my favorite vegetable side dishes is caramelized cabbage. I use red cabbage, shred it and either saute or roast it with olive oil until it gets soft and slightly crispy. It has the most amazing taste ever!

  3. 17/02/2011 12:48 PM

    I really want to fry something- so unhealthy, but it would be so good! I’m scared of hot grease burning my face, though 🙂

    • 17/02/2011 12:52 PM

      I used to be terrified of frying. My friend taught me to fry chicken and it released the fear. Definitely not something I wouldn’t do it on my own.

  4. Jenna permalink
    18/02/2011 7:52 AM

    I make that “stuffed cabbage” (we call it holubtz). 🙂 The trick is to make about a hundred, and just freeze it. I usually do it 2-3 times a year, because it is rather labor intensive…last time I made it, Joe helped, and he gained appreciation for how much work it is.

    • 18/02/2011 10:34 AM

      Yes this will be added to the list of things we will do the next time I am down your way. Yummy Ukrakian food 🙂

      • Jenna permalink
        18/02/2011 10:37 AM

        LOL, no problem!!! Though at this rate, you may have to come down for a weekend so we can accomplish everything on our list!!

  5. 21/02/2011 4:34 AM

    This looks great! Thanks for the tutorial! 🙂

    • 21/02/2011 11:35 AM

      Thanks. I was shocked at the simplicity and how inexpensive it was. It was perfect side dish with all my meals that week.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Is That A Cabbage Patch–Recipe « It All Changes -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

