Skip to content

Where’d You Get That Accent? + Goals

31/01/2011

I saw Caitlin do this a few days a go and thought I’d give it a go.  I’m often asked about my accent but I don’t think I have one.  I guess most of us don’t.  Check out my first real Vlog (Peanut begs to differ). Smile

 

If you wanted to follow along, here is the list of words/questions for The Accent Vlog:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call your grandparents?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?
  • What do you call the thing you call the thing you drink water from in public? (inspired by Ruffles and Truffles)
  • What is the caffeinated beverage sold at Starbucks?

So what do you think?

Play along and create your own. Open-mouthed smile

How about those goals?

Last Week’s -Long List of- Goals:

Life

  • Wake up earlier. Eating breakfast with Peanut and Leo was fantastic.  Although they do get a bit sniffy with my oatmeal.  I enjoyed not having to rush around…although the sick days were waking up and reading in bed.
  • Wear real clothes 3 days this week. This was good and bad.  I wore real clothes the three days…but I realized some clothes don’t fit right now. Sad smile Good reminder to be diligent about my eating and working out.  I’m also looking forward to having my final allergy test soon and get on with my living.
  • Limit Computer Time. Big fat fail!  But in my defense I was sick 2 days this week and did a lot of work in bed.  So I was on the computer but not on social media too much.  I miss y’all so much, but at least I got a lot done.
  • Memorize the Romans Road. I practiced with the verses I know but didn’t know the references.  Now I have them printed and I’m going to write them on index cards to practice in meetings over the next week.  Shhhh don’t tell. Winking smile
  • Quilting. Darn sick bug. Friday was set aside for quilting time…instead I spent quality time with my nook.  At least the table is set up in my extra bedroom with my sewing machine and the fabric was pulled out.  Shows good intent.  Can someone remind sick people it is better to stay home and get well, please?!

Health

  • Regular Exercise Schedule. I kept all my workouts and I was smart and stayed home to recover from the sickness instead of infect other gym goers.  I consider that success.  And I’m happy with how far I’ve come since making exercise regular.  Double bonus.
  • Focus on what I can do and not what my body can’t. At boot camp I was starting to get down on myself for not doing as many push ups as others…then I remembered 4 weeks ago I couldn’t do toe push-ups.  I went from being down to being proud.  My yoga session reminded me to keep that JUST BE attitude.
  • Gluten Free Fun. I’ve found some fabulous treats and I’m learning how to adjust the things I normally eat. I’m a bit frustrated that all my easy treats are gluten-filled instead of gluten-free.  However there is a great local bakery that makes awesome gluten-free brownies that might be my downfall.
  • Switch it up. Hallelujah…new recipes, slightly better snacks, more sleep, more reading.  Okay so I didn’t do as well as I’d hoped but I’m on the right track and I’m enjoying forward motion.

Blogging

  • Make a light box… After my confession that I already made it I had a blast taking pictures.  Take a gander at my favorite of the week. IMG_6904Now for more fun to come. Smile
  • Practice with my camera. I learned what “white balance” is and how to take depth of field shots.  I’m trying to convince myself I don’t need a DSLR but it’s getting harder and harder with all the fun.  It’s been added to the bottom of my blog savings list.
  • Look at the 101 List. I’m preparing to cross a few more things off the list. Hunni and I had fun planning some of them for soon.  And that’s all I’m going to tell you. Winking smile
  • Make a blogging schedule. Google Docs is my official new friend…oh and the friend who taught me how to use them should be hugged. I really enjoy having a schedule and idea of posts all set up so the panic doesn’t set in.  I hope you enjoy the writing as much as I do.
  • Write a few posts ahead. I’m at some meetings this week so I needed to complete this goal most of all.  Mission accomplished.
  • Schedule some guest posts. There are some great guest posts scheduled for this week and I have a few more lined up.  Enjoy them and support the bloggers…they are great blends.  If anyone else would like to guest post here on It All Changes email me at cynthia.crowsen@gmail.com.

This Week’s Goals:

  • Two workout non-gym workouts. My meetings this week will keep me from the gym, so I have workouts planned and things laid out ready to go. I WILL DO THIS!
  • Up my water intake. Busy days lead to me forgetting to chug my liquids. The freezing weather outside doesn’t help. Three water bottles are ready to go and I’m packing my own tea bags for the meetings since there will be copious amounts of coffee but no me friendly creamers.
  • Balanced meals. My meals have been all over the place. I need to practice combining protein, carbohydrate, vegetables and some fats.  Eating shouldn’t be all or nothing…unless it’s all Girl Scout cookies.  Just kidding Open-mouthed smile
  • Explore the outlets. I’ll be near a real mall and real stores (i.e. not just Target) and want to shop ‘til I drop.  Well not really but I want to purchase some things I need without paying the shipping and try on a few others I don’t know if I’ll like.
  • Spend time with friends. The bonus of all the meetings I attend for work is that many involve friends I don’t see often. I’m looking forward to catching up and picking some brains for ideas. Smile
7 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/01/2011 8:44 AM

    I did the accent vlog the other day…super interesting!

  2. 31/01/2011 4:18 PM

    i really liked your vlog! 🙂 it was fun to hear your real voice. and nice job accomplishing so many of your goals even though you weren’t feeling well.

    • 31/01/2011 4:19 PM

      oh, and ps. i’m from wisconsin and i have always called it a bubbler! but i’ve learned since going to college that other people do not call it that, so if i’m around someone who i know is not from wisco, i call it a water fountain!

    • 01/02/2011 8:30 PM

      Thanks. I listened to my vlog and had to ask Hunni, “Do I really sound like that?” 🙂

  3. 31/01/2011 4:41 PM

    You’re right… I REALLY don’t want to drink water when it’s cold outside! Brrr… tea is a nicer option, but I heard it can dehydrate you? Not sure how that works…

  4. 31/01/2011 6:44 PM

    I totally think you sound Southern!

Trackbacks

  1. Rice Cooker Jambalaya–Recipe « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

