Skip to content

Date Night, Is Only Natural

28/01/2011

When Hunni and I were dating, we went out almost every weekend.  Movies, dinner, shopping, just walking for no reason at all.  Anything to be out with each other and fall more deeply in love.

running lovers

Trust me, he asked to run races with me.  He said we were spending time together…even if he was drenched in sweat and spent the rest of his afternoon napping.  Ahhh, those were the days of dating.

Then life smacked us in the face and there was work to do, dogs to walk, places to be and honestly we saw each other all the time.  So we stopped dating and just started being.

However we missed that dating feeling.  We missed looking forward to spending time just the two of us without all the pressures of work and other people.

Last year we instituted Date Day.  We do anything from blueberry picking, snowshoeing, and shopping; to “real dates” like the ballet and dinner.

While in Connecticut for a conference and spent Saturday evening just the two of us.  First stop…dinner because we love to eat.

gym 013

My friend Emily took me to It’s Only Natural awhile back and I’d been waiting for the perfect chance to go back.  Hunni was game for a vegetarian/vegan restaurant.  He’s become a lot more adventurous with my allergies going crazy.

While we waited for our food we played with the décor.

gym 016gym 015gym 018

Can we have a chalkboard table when we grow up? It was so much fun to write little notes to each other.  Hunni added this bit in…

gym 017Then I reminded him the Eagles weren’t doing so well. (Now both our teams are out Sad smile )

We don’t drink alcohol so I ordered a pot of hot tea and Hunni tortured his mango smoothie instead.

gym 023 gym 024

Dinner was fantastic but the star was dessert.  The desserts at It’s Only Natural are delivered from local bakeries and the waitress checked to see if they had any without my allergens…lucky for me she walked out with this beauty. gym 026There may or may not have been fork stabbing for the last bite.  Don’t worry this has been added to my “to recreate” file, caramel sauce and all.  Hunni made me promise.

The rest of the evening was full of  wandering the stores and enjoying our time out…hand in hand of course.

IMG_3333

What would be your perfect date?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/01/2011 10:04 AM

    That is so cute! The last picture made me smile 🙂

  2. 28/01/2011 6:18 PM

    Well, I don’t think I’ve had “date night” in a while. Lately, we’re more home-bodies. I think right now, I just want to be taken out to dinner. =)

  3. 28/01/2011 11:30 PM

    I like going out and doing something outside the house. Today we are going to an outlet mall to look around.

    • 29/01/2011 12:07 AM

      That’s sweet. Getting out of the house more often is our new goals. We had our date night planning session today.

      What does an outlet mall in Japan look like?

  4. 29/01/2011 7:19 AM

    It is very similar to the outdoor malls/outlets I’ve been to in the U.S., but the one we go to is pretty Western, so there might be a difference I don’t know of for other outlets in Japan.

    • 29/01/2011 10:56 AM

      Thanks for that info. I know that in Spain they are very different and different cultures intrigue me.

  5. 29/01/2011 4:16 PM

    aww, this post made me smile. i love date night! 🙂 i’ve been lucky enough to experience my perfect date night, but here it is: dinner at a fun restaurant (we did tapas!), then a trip to forest park (in st. louis) to walk around and sit on the hills people watching and chatting, and finally fro-yo eaten outside with lots of toppings and sharing from our different mixes!

    • 29/01/2011 4:26 PM

      That sounds like a fantastic date night. Simple fun things you enjoy together make them the best.

  6. 29/01/2011 8:18 PM

    HOLY SHIT!!!! this was the very first restaurant i ever worked at – b/c i went to school in middletown!!! i lasted about 2 days b/c i couldn’t work the day shifts with my classes. the first woman who ordered from me was macrobiotic and i thought my mind was going to explode from confusion. so great to see it’s still in business!!!

    • 29/01/2011 8:20 PM

      HAHAHA! So that makes two of your places I’ve eaten at. Now I just need to get to Cali and try some of the fantastic places you post about.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Date Night, Is Only Natural « It All Changes -- Topsy.com
  2. The Art of Wooing | 52 Squires in a Year

Leave a Reply

