Skip to content

Coconut Lime Acorn Squash

27/01/2011

Remember my acorn vacuum…I mean squash?  I intended on making pudding similar to my kabocha pudding with it.  Then that idea went out the window when I heard about the lovely combination of coconut and lime.  You put the lime in the coconut and mix it all together…with a few other ingredients of course.

Coconut Lime Acorn Squash

Ingredients

IMG_6392

  • One roasted acorn squash.  Do this while baking dinner for another night to save time.
  • 1 cup cooked millet. If you’ve never cooked millet before use this tutorial.
  • 3/4 light coconut milk.  A great way to use up leftovers from other recipes.
  • 2 tbsp. lime juice
  • 2 tsp. olive oil.
  • 1 small onion, minced.
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. fresh minced ginger
  • Red Pepper Flakes for heat if desired.  In this weather I’ll take all the heat I can get.
  • Salt for taste
  • 3 Roasted red peppers, cut small
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup vegetable broth

Instructions

  1. Preheat large skillet or pot over medium heat.  Sautee onion in 1 tsp. of olive oil until lightly browned and then add ginger, garlic and and red pepper flakes and a dash of salt.  After sautéing turn heat to low.IMG_6399
  2. Remove flesh from squash and add to pan with onions and spices.  Add roasted red pepper that has been chopped.  Stir and slowly add coconut milk. IMG_6404 If needed, use a potato masher and take our your frustrations. Smile You are looking for a creamy consistency.
  3. Add cooked millet and stir well.  Add 1/4-1/2 cup of vegetable stock until your desired thickness. IMG_6401 I enjoy it much thicker and more stock can be used when you reheat for left overs.
  4. Remove from heat, add lime juice and more salt to taste if needed.  Serve. IMG_6514 Toppings include nutritional yeast, more red pepper flakes – I like it spicy – or dried basil.  For a sophisticated treat, toast some coconut to garnish.

Have you ever cooked with grains like millet?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/01/2011 11:07 AM

    yum yum yum! i have some millet that i need to use up! now i know how. 🙂 thanks cynthia!

  2. 27/01/2011 2:12 PM

    Wow this sounds fantastic! I actually have a can of light coconut milk in my pantry that I’ve had for ages and haven’t used… this could be a great option!

  3. Melissa permalink
    27/01/2011 4:49 PM

    hmmmm…. millet?? Can something else be substituted here, like quinoa? And where would one find nutritional yeast?

    • 27/01/2011 9:43 PM

      You can sub in any grain you’d like. I’m just experimenting with new grains that are gluten free. Quinoa would add a good bit of protein to the dish.

  4. 27/01/2011 5:20 PM

    I LOVE acorn squash! I haven’t had it in far too long. I’m kind of addicted to kabocha!

    • 27/01/2011 9:44 PM

      I go through spurts with my favorite squash. Right now I have butternut squash in the pantry.

Leave a Reply

