Skip to content

What Weight Does It Hold?

26/01/2011

The average woman weighs herself 6000 times over the course of her life. (source) Women who are trying to lose weight can be more than double that.

The number on the scale can hold so much power over you.  It has for me in the past.  If the scale showed a gain, my mood sunk.  Even though I knew it was physically impossible to gain 10 pounds in 2 days unless I ate the entire contents of my pantry twice over.

At those times I never remembered the other things that factor into “weight.”  Instead I gave them control over my emotions.

The scale doesn’t have to be a tool for torture or abuse.  It only holds power when you put all your value in that one number.

IMG_3470

Instead, try thinking of weight as one number of many.  Other things to pay attention to:

  • Your Measurements. While your weight may not go down your measurements may change.  Mary and Tina blogged about this clearly as they trained for their triathlon and marathon.
  • Activity Times/Days. Keep track of the number of days you are purposefully active.  Reward yourself for making a healthy decision for yourself and your future.  Your consistency and hard work will pay off.
  • New experiences. Are you stuck in the same routines; food, exercise or otherwise.  Challenge yourself to try some new things to change it up.  New things will help push you forward instead of falling into old habits.  Perhaps you’ll find something new you like…like me with hummus and running.  Just not at the same time. Smile
  • Your goals. Set goals. Write them down.  Post them in a meaningful place like your fridge, bulletin board or bathroom mirror.  Remind yourself that you are making decisions for your health and for each one your cross off you have worked hard to achieve it.
  • You health numbers. So often we I forget that weight loss isn’t about looking great in clothes.  Losing even 10% of your body weight will decrease your chances of so many illnesses.  For me this means a lowered risk of heart disease and less medications to keep my bipolar disorder stable.

No matter what a chart or a scale or the magazines says…you are comparing yourself against one person- YOU! Being the best all around you is more important than any one of these single factors.

I may never run a marathon, be a size 2 or under 150 pounds but I am doing what is best for me. 

How about doing what’s best for you today?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/01/2011 8:49 AM

    Wow. 6,000 times? I can think of SO many more things I’d rather spend my life doing. And yet, I continue to step on that scale every single day…

    This is why I love the idea of rewarding myself “for making a healthy decision for yourself and your future.” SO true! Each and every healthy decision means something, and all those decisions add up to a healthy lifestyle.

    • 26/01/2011 10:29 AM

      Yeah that number shocked me. Especially since I have been trying to lose weight most of my adult life and know I’m probably over that.

  2. 26/01/2011 10:42 AM

    I want to be horrified by the number of times people weigh themselves…but since I do it obsessively, too, I really can’t be too surprised.

    I love your point about non-scale measurements, though. I fit in my clothes better, have more stamina, better skin and more since losing weight. Even if the scale doesn’t show it!

    • 26/01/2011 10:46 AM

      I know. I wanted to be horrified too. But when I added the number of times I do it It seemed really plausible. Especially since I have been known to be a multiple time a day weigher.

      Non-scale measurements save me. My weight doesn’t always drop my measurements for health (BP etc) as well as body measurements are much better.

  3. 26/01/2011 1:05 PM

    I still weigh myself but I am not obsessed with the number anymore. It used to hold so much power for me!

  4. 27/01/2011 3:11 AM

    I understand the feeling all too well. I’m a few pounds up from my “happy weight” after the holidays and being home with family. I think I’ve actually lost those pounds, but I’ve been working out at the same time and gaining muscle, which is heavier than fat. Even knowing that, it’s frustrating to work hard and not see it payoff with a number.

    • 27/01/2011 11:28 AM

      Exactly. I know when I workout regularly and am fit I weigh more. At my lowest weight I was also my unhealthiest…I was awaiting back surgery and could do nothing. At my goal/happy weight I’m 3 pounds higher 🙂 All ab muscles baby!

Trackbacks

  1. What I Really Lost « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

