Skip to content

Challenging Me

19/01/2011

2011 is officially here, if you didn’t know.  Just kidding…I’m sure you’ve stopped writing 2010 on your checks and paperwork, right?  It’s hard for me to believe that January is half over.  I keep thinking back to December as I prayed for January to arrive and now it is almost February.

In December I set forward my personal goals for 2011 to get back on track.  I ended 2010 not to fit and was bound to end 2011 much better.  I applied to be part of Team 4all to make goals I knew I could keep up and would do for me whether I was selected or not.

IMG_5286

So now half-way through January I want to make sure I’m on track for myself.  As a reminder here are my goals.

  • Try at least one new fitness thing a month.
  • Strength train at least 2x per week.
  • Train for races my body can handle.
  • Stretch and pull.

I’m stoked about my progress thus far.  I am taking Zumba and Boot Camp at the local Y.  My boot camp instructor loves burpees and suicide drills.  I think she hates me…and I’m nowhere near as awesome as the people in the videos.  I can do three burpees before falling on my face.  I’ll get there, it just might take a few months.

In the next few months I’m taking on cross-country skiing and hot yoga to get all bendy and stretchy.  I may not look happy but I was über relaxed after my first hot yoga experience and can’t wait for another.

hot yoga

With boot camp I’m getting in a fantastic combo of strength and cardio.  To amp it up a notch, I also signed up to be on Team HEAB for the Moving Forward, Giving Back challenge.  Lindsey is a great trainer but I think she hates me too.  More burpees…then box jumps, high knees, and a full two minutes of jumping jacks.  Did I accidentally joined the military or the NFL?

I made a boo boo and didn’t train for the New Year’s Hangover Race…but Heather and I finished together, super happy and healthy.

race finish

Also my body didn’t hate me after.  That was a nice change after my running in 2010.  Now I need some new races.  Perhaps I’ll wait until all the nasty weather goes away.

Meanwhile, I ran my first Tabata and my legs didn’t hate me.  I figured out the key…I did half an hour of stretching after running.  It was fun watching Celebrity Rehab while twisting and turning all different ways.  I felt like Jello but I loved it.

The only thing left to do now is convince the weather to cooperate.   I want to hit the gym for the treadmill and classes, pool and even run outdoors.  At some point the bike to nowhere is going to drive me nuts.  I have to make faces and watch movies to stand it.

gym today 012

How are you doing on your fitness goals?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/01/2011 9:39 AM

    Sounds like you’ve got some fun new challenges!

    After having my surgery in December, I’ve been taking it pretty easy, but I did do some yoga Monday! I hope to get back into it.

  2. 19/01/2011 10:18 AM

    Good for you! I love the combination of stretching, strength, cardio, group classes, working out on your own, etc. — variety is so key.

    You mentioned a couple posts ago that you might be interested in Core Fusion — I just discovered that they have a Hulu channel. Yep, for free — you could try it out, if you’re ever looking for new strength workouts!

  3. 19/01/2011 10:31 AM

    Wow Cynthia, you are kicking booty so far in 2011, and yeah, I’m with you. The burpees, high knees, and mountain climbers are killing me, but I always feel so good when they’re done. I’m also anxious for some nice weather as I can’t wait to get outside. I miss my walking and hiking, but spring will be here before we know it!

    Thanks again for joining Team HEAB! 🙂

  4. 19/01/2011 2:52 PM

    I can’t wait for the Team 4all results. How cool would it be to both have the chance to do it together. And I love Lindsay. She really does know her stuff.

    • 19/01/2011 3:18 PM

      That would be fantastic Tina. It would be a blast to see what kind of fun things we can do.

      Lindsey is fantastic. She is so easy to work with and able to adjust to different lifestyles and abilities.

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten’s Last Stand + Goals « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

