Skip to content

Belonging with Judy Blume

18/01/2011

*Today is you last day to enter for a chance to win 2 King Arthur Flour Baking Mixes (gluten-free or original).  Click here to enter by midnight.*

++++++++++++++++

I don’t intend on doing a review of every book on my A-Z list but this one I had to share with you.

My mom took me for my first library card before I could even read.  Reading was part of our regular schedule.  Once I started reading for fun I alternated between conventional books like The Hobbit and the contemporary.  In elementary and middle school every girl was reading Baby Sitters Club and Judy Blume.

judy blume

Yes, that Judy Blume.  I’m sure you know her.  Author of great books like “Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret?”, “Deenie”, “Blubber” and the series about “Fudge.”  Who doesn’t remember “I must, I must, I must increase my bust.”  Each new book was amazing to figure out how Judy – an adult – knew what kids were thinking…and that they were all like me, in some way.  It was like she was reading my mind.

Everything I Learned About Being a Girl I learned from Judy Blume edited by Jennifer O’Connell is a collection of essays from authors of various generations.  They all read and learned from Judy Blume.  Everything from the importance of self, respect for family and the all important (read: embarrassing) changes you go through as a girl.  I had many of my own insights about the books but sharing the new things they learned makes me want to add them to my to-read list.  Perhaps I might…After reading Heather’s discussion of the Baby Sitters Club I’m thinking about digging them out of my grandma’s attic.

Every reader and writer felt like they wanted to belong.  Heck we still want to belong somewhere.  As an ARMY brat I moved a lot…but loved the title and wear it proudly.  That doesn’t mean I always fit in.  The library was where I belonged.  There was always a girl reading a book I’d read or wanted to read, so I knew I belonged.  Judy helped me belong and believe I wasn’t as freakish as I thought.

IMG_6094

Now as an adult it’s interesting to look back at adolescence through the eyes of each author and be relieved they had similar feelings.  They belonged…someone understood them and their “freak” qualities weren’t as freaky as they thought.

If you are a Judy Blume fan this book is great to look back at the books from an adult perspective and enjoy seeing them again.

Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    18/01/2011 9:09 AM

    Judy Blume, Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley High, Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys…ahhh, the reading of my youth. I’ve considered reading this book, I may have to invest in it!!!

    • 18/01/2011 11:18 AM

      Those are the books I read throughout my youth too. When Mandy suggest this I loved the idea. The book really lived up to my expectations and I couldn’t put it down.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  2. Mandy permalink
    18/01/2011 9:14 AM

    So glad you liked this one! Isn’t it fun looking back? I loved JB because I never felt weird for being curious. Her characters talked about what no one else would!

    • 18/01/2011 11:19 AM

      This was a perfect book. I loved looking back and I loved that all the authors talked about the books the way I saw them. They characters weren’t perfect kids/teens…they were me. 🙂

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  3. actorsdiet permalink
    18/01/2011 12:28 PM

    i definitely wanna check that book out – i am a HUGE judy blume fan. in fact, i wrote to her after doing this blog post on her:

    http://theactorsdiet.wordpress.com/2010/09/06/cinderelly/

    and she wrote me a sweet note back!!! it was the highlight of my year.

    • 18/01/2011 2:42 PM

      That is so sweet. I love Judy Blume and had fun poking around her website after reading the book and writing this post. Such fun. And amazing that kids of a whole new generation are reading her books now.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  4. 18/01/2011 2:38 PM

    I LOVED Judy Blume when I was younger! My fifth grade teacher knew I loved to read, so she recommended ‘Summer Sisters’ when I was ten. I don’t know if you’ve read it, but that book is NOT appropriate for anyone under the age of 18!

    • 18/01/2011 2:44 PM

      Yes that book and Wifey are not appropriate for the under 18 groups. I made the mistake of picking up Wifey after I finished a book and “OH MY!”

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  5. 19/01/2011 12:09 AM

    thanks for the review – I LOVED Judy Blume when I was younger, and completely ABSORBED all of her books… I am going to have to read this!

    • 19/01/2011 11:56 AM

      You will love it. It was so fun to see how each author loved the stories but understood them from their own life perspective…just like we all did.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

Leave a Reply

