Skip to content

Exercise Is Fun + Goals

17/01/2011

*Deadline for the King Arthur Flour giveaway is tomorrow at Midnight. Don’t miss out.  You can choose any 2 mixes from their gluten free or traditional lines.*

I like running…no, I LOVE running.

quarter marathon 005quarter marathon 017running geek 003race finishblog pics 052

I usually get one of two reactions.  “Woohoo…Good for you.” or “Why would you do that?” One reaction isn’t better than the other.  I fell in the I hate running camp for many years.  Yes I hated…absolutely despised running.  You know why?…It wasn’t fun.

You don’t have to like running…you don’t have to like Zumba or swimming or strength training or the elliptical.  YOU should find what YOU enjoy.  Blabbing on and on about different workouts I enjoy, does no good…you may hate them.  Many friends sing the joys of spinning…that bike scares the crap out of me.

spinning

Working out should be enjoyable and something you look forward to.  Okay, you may not look forward to the exercise but you should enjoy how you feel after…that “I did something good” feeling that comes with a great workout.

A friend says she’s never regretted a workout.  I agree.  I may loathe the idea of going to workout but after I start and the endorphins – happy exercise fun drug – kick in, I never regret going…even in the snow, sleet or rain.  Call me the workout postman. Open-mouthed smile

Try different things.  Find your niche.  See what your friends are doing.  Or make it a group event.  I enjoy solo workouts but when I know a friend is waiting for me, I’m more likely to go.  Most of all…HAVE FUN! You only have one body and one life, so live it!

What workouts do you LOVE?

Last Week’s Goals:

  • Increase Veggie Intake. I feel like the Green Giant.  I ate my fruits for snacks and had veggies in many ways for both lunch and dinner as well as veggies in my snacks.  Ho, ho, ho Green Giant!  I watched a documentary on veggies and fell in love with the Mr. Green Giant.  He’s so cute…sorry Hunni.
  • Menus. Hmmm…Fail!  Big fail.  My schedule was out of whack this week with my birthday, a massive snow storm, and adding some new things to my schedule that threw me off.  But third week of January I have my eye on you. Winking smile I premade meals that are in the fridge or freezer already…and many fabulous experiments for you later.  Smile
  • Enjoy my birthday. Enjoyed…nah I had a FABULOUS day.  Birthday cupcakes and snowshoeing to dinner.  God was so nice and sent a snowstorm for my birthday so I had a day off for all this fun!
  • Consistent Exercise. I’m still working on this.  I made some little mistakes this week health wise – I’m still learning my own health issues – so I had to take a few days off.  I got more exercise in this week than I have in the past and my Google Calendar is ready and my Fit Book is loaded for this week.  I will get it in…and be happy with what I’ve been able to do.
  • Write three real letters. This was my biggest success this week.  I had fun picking out my cards for the letters I was sending and writing specific letters to friends.  I hope they enjoyed them and want to keep this up because it was a fantastic stress relief.

This Week’s Goals:

  • Keep Daily Goals. I set far too many goals each day that I can never accomplish and then I’m saddened when I look at that list.  This week I’m going back to listing the things that HAVE to get done at the top and then having everything else be icing on the proverbial cake.
  • Pre-plan menus. Lately I’ve being employing the “grab and go” method of eating.  The only problem is grabbing and going means I grab junk that is available because I don’t have anything healthy planned.  This week is different.  Because I’ve planned I know what to prep.
  • Yoga and stretching. I’ve loved adding the strength and varied cardio these last several weeks but have missed the stretching piece.  I need to get over the mind game that “stretching/yoga isn’t a workout.”  Oh heck yeah it is.  I was sweating doing a plank last week so those moves rock.
  • Get back in the Weight Watchers groove. With all the craziness of the last few weeks…I haven’t tracked too much or paid attention to balance in my eating.  I miss the little Smile that pop up in my online tracker when I achieve all the Good Health Guidelines.  Talking with my Registered Dietitian made me realize I was missing some basic things in my diet and I needed to get back there.  Weight Watchers works for me.
  • Curl up and read. I have a great list of books and people keep suggesting even more great books.  I love my nook and want to curl up and read more this week.  Scheduling reading in makes it easy to put it in and my nook makes it easy to take my book wherever I go.
  • Organize. I’m not the best housekeeper…Neither is Hunni for that matter.  We aren’t dirty…just unorganized.  I’m picking another room to organize after the success of our Pink Room project.  The organizing and purging is cathartic.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/01/2011 8:54 AM

    You watched a documentary on veggies?! This I have to watch…

    You’re right that exercise has to be fun — at least, it has to be something you could possibly enjoy, even if it’s not a picnic in the short run. This month, I’ve started doing a couple Core Fusion workouts a few times a week, in addition to cardio. I am loving it because it’s so hard, and yet gentle at the same time. I have a couple of chronic injuries, and the CF dvds seem to be one thing that just don’t hurt! And yes, they are fun — I actually look forward to getting up and doing them in the morning!

    • 17/01/2011 12:38 PM

      I’ve heard a lot about core fusion lately and I’m intrigued. I’ve added it to my list of things to try out this year.

      I was glued to the History Channel on Saturday while sick and watched a documentary about veggies and canning and seasonality. It was very interesting.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  2. 17/01/2011 9:32 AM

    Stretching and yoga are lifesavers for me as a runner. And my foam roller, too!

    I didn’t get serious about running until Fall 2009, but I wasn’t serious about stretching or any of the stuff I needed to do to keep my body working. So I’ve been injured a lot since then and learned the hard way that the build up and repair stuff is more important than the actual workout even!

    • 17/01/2011 12:37 PM

      That is so true. I had to learn that the hard way. When I end up in PT because I didn’t keep up with it Boot Camp Steve always let’s me have it. I need to be more on it this time and stay ahead of the injuries.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  3. 17/01/2011 3:03 PM

    I love your goals! I need to make exercise fun. Lately it’s felt like a chore!

    • 17/01/2011 4:27 PM

      I was at that point recently and realized I was missing the fun I had. A great run with friends reminded me I love running and need to get back to it. And Zumba has been hilarious because I can’t dance but am sweating bullets.

  4. 17/01/2011 6:53 PM

    I used to hate running too… Then I learned *how* to run. Sounds silly, right? But it makes a huge difference.

    & good thing I don’t HAVE to like Zumba – cause I hate it. Fo rizzle. I fell down & sprained my ankle in a Zumba class once & I haven’t been back since.

  5. 17/01/2011 8:57 PM

    oooh i need to curl up and read too! and LOVE last weeks goal to write more letters. ive got 3 thanks you’s i need to write up gah

    • 17/01/2011 9:28 PM

      I am loving the curl up and read goal. I have so many book on my to-read list and I keep adding more. 🙂

      Send those thank you’s. It will make you feel good and seeing real mail is always the highlight of my day.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  6. Jenna permalink
    17/01/2011 9:22 PM

    I love your goals. 🙂 And the whole writing a letter thing…talk about a lost art!!!!

    • 17/01/2011 9:26 PM

      Thank Jenna. In the day of email many people forget about letter writing but I love it. I love sending and receiving letters. Reminds me of living in Germany and seeing my grandma’s handwriting on an envelope for me 🙂

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  7. 17/01/2011 11:20 PM

    I agree…You have to find something that you love! What I love varies from day to day, but I can always count on a good run!

Leave a Reply

