Skip to content

Jacket Potatoes

14/01/2011

*The lovely Katie is spending time with her husband who is on leave from the military.  She asked me to guest post and I thought I’d share some fashion advice.  Head over there to check it out.*

While studying in Seville, Spain my favorite restaurant was a place called Papasa.  Such a small hole-in-the-wall place that there isn’t even a website or picture I can find online.  Papasa only sold one thing…Baked Potatoes.  Yep, that’s it.

baked potato

These weren’t just any baked potatoes.  They topped each potato with pretty much anything you could think of.  These potatoes were wonderfully HUGE.  You should have seen the ovens they had to bake these things.  The combinations of toppings were endless.

Some of my favorite combos were:

El Gringo: Plain with broccoli and cheddar – how typical of us Americans.

El Mexicano: Salsa, refried beans, and Mexican cheese blend with jalapeno.

El Tejano: Shredded BBQ Beef, cheddar jack cheese, and garlic aioli.

El Greco: Feta, olives, garlic aioli, and cannellini beans.

These combinations were fabulous and it was fun to try to think up ones they didn’t have on the menu…but it was hard because they had everything.

In England they also had jacket potatoes.  I love the term because the baked potato is the perfect jacket for whatever you wanted.  Caitlin loves hers with baked beans.

Last week while making roasted beets I decided to throw in several potatoes as well.

IMG_6261

They smelled fabulous and are easy to store in the fridge for a quick-lunch.  However like any jacket they look a bit boring.

IMG_6530

So boring in fact you just want to smash it to bits.

IMG_6531

Then comes the innovation.  Like any real jacket you have to accessorize.  Anything in the fridge is fair game.

Hunni loved my version of the traditional El Gringo.  I added some broccoli, garlic salt and laughing cow cheese.  Then chowed down.

IMG_6552

I decided to throw a bit of this and a bit of that and come up with my fabulous creation.

IMG_6538

Leftover dump-it-all-in chili, nutritional yeast, guacamole and some tortilla chips on the side.

Other combinations I love are baked sweet potato with Daiya Cheddar, salsa, guacamole, and nutritional yeast.  Or sweet potato with refried black beans, roasted red peppers, Daiya mozzarella and a bit of salsa.

Don’t get me started because I don’t know if I could stop.  Perhaps next time I’ll add the roasted beets and garlic right on top. Open-mouthed smile

Try it for yourself:  Bake some potatoes – sweet, regular, blue or pink and purple polka dots – open your fridge or pantry and start experimenting.  You never know what you will come up with.

What are your favorite baked potato toppings?

* Don’t forget about my give away for 2 of King Arthur Flour’s mixes.  Click here to enter.  Deadline for entries is Tuesday January 18, 2011 at Midnight. Open-mouthed smile*

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/01/2011 1:23 PM

    Spain. Sigh. I spent two weeks there a few years ago – love. Lucky you, that you got to study in Seville!

    I’ve always been a baked potato purist — buttah. Much buttah. But I have tried the chili thing — and it’s great! Thanks for the creative reminder.

    • 14/01/2011 1:33 PM

      Sevilla was the highlight of my collect career. I would move back in a heartbeat if I knew what to do there.

      My friend hated the fact that Papasa wouldn’t give her butter and sour cream. She refused to eat there.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  2. 14/01/2011 8:00 PM

    This is so my kind of meal! Bookmarked 🙂 I’m glad I found your blog!

  3. 14/01/2011 9:51 PM

    I like butter on my potato, but can roll with other things.
    Thanks for the inspiration for dinner next week! 🙂

  4. 14/01/2011 11:14 PM

    Somehow I always forget about baked potatoes. So filling and delicious!

    Looks like I know what I’ll be having with my lunch this week- probably topped with a few dashes of vinegar, salt, and pepper. Delicious!

  5. Jenna permalink
    15/01/2011 10:27 PM

    Bacon, cheese…all stuff you can’t have, but is delish on a tater.

    • 16/01/2011 6:07 PM

      Jenna You are hilarious!!! Mean but hilarious 🙂

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

      • Jenna permalink
        16/01/2011 8:57 PM

        Well, to be fair, many of the combos you posted are ones you can’t have anymore, either. 😉

        I’m going to make twice baked potatoes this week…sour cream, bacon, cheddar, milk, the whole 9. Amazingly, only 5 points!

      • 16/01/2011 9:03 PM

        True true. 😉 Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

Leave a Reply

