Skip to content

“What Can You Eat?”

13/01/2011

*** Don’t forget to enter my birthday give away for 2 of King Arthur Flour’s mixes.  Click here to enter.  Deadline for entries is Tuesday January 18, 2011 at Midnight. Tweet and tell your friends. Open-mouthed smile**

Normally people ask what do you want to eat.  Instead I’m asked “What CAN you eat?”  I’ve heard this a million times in the last few months.  I’ve my food issues before but my latest round of ER visits and allergy testing left me with a whole other set of allergy result and questions.

I thought I’d answer THE question…especially since some of you are new readers.  Hi! Smile

IMG_6546

My official list of allergies and intolerances are:

  • Gluten Intolerance
  • Wheat Allergy
  • Soy Allergy
  • Dairy Intolerance
  • Cane Sugar Intolerance
  • Sugar Alcohol Intolerance (think malitol, sorbitol, anything-ol)
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup Intolerance
  • Almond Allergy
  • Pumpkin Allergy
  • Hazelnut Allergy

Whewwwww……. That’s a mouthful.

Overwhelmed? Don’t worry, it’s not that bad.

I overwhelm others when I list what I can’t eat.  That’s where the “What CAN you eat?” question comes in.  Instead I’ve learned to tell friends, family and anyone quite frankly, what I can eat. It’s much easier on both ends.

I’m not a vegan, although many of my recipes are.  I’m technically an ovo-vegetarian.  I often eat eggs for breakfast and they appear in some recipes…mostly baked goods.  Some of my recipes were created prior to my diagnosis so they might contain some of my allergens, like tofu or yogurt.  I’m working on tweaking them again.

My pantry is constantly changing with a variety of beans, grains, fruits and veggies.  I load up on seasonal fresh fruits and veggies and stock my freezer for thing that aren’t.  This year I also learned how to can from some wonderful friends and have other things things I picked frozen (Thanks Momma for the peaches!).  I love the bulk bins and keep ball jars filled with lentils, quinoa, millet, and other beans and grains.

IMG_4431IMG_4433

I have a few prepackaged mixes and treats but I tend to make things at home.

Shopping is an experience when the gluten-free things have soy and the soy-free things have dairy.  Great family and friends make grocery trips fun as we read ingredients and have fun new food finds.  I think of it like a scavenger hunt.

food map

Eating out is a treat because I have to find “me” friendly restaurants.  We have a few of our favorites and I’m learning to call ahead to find other accommodating places.  Food is wonderful though, so I’m enjoying the adventure.

On this roller coaster of life I’m learning many tricks and tweaks to eat the foods I love that don’t always love me back.  Sharing them with you is my joy along the way.  It’s the thrill of the ride to figure out new paths and new foods to enjoy.  Allergen free food doesn’t mean it can’t taste good.  I’m a bit kooky and so are my eating habits at times but that’s totally okay with me.  I hope you continue join in on the fun.

What is your favorite thing to eat?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/01/2011 9:38 AM

    Thanks for sharing!

    I have a hunch that your blog is going to be a God-send for people struggling with allergies! I love your positive attitude — that it’s all an adventure.

  2. goodeatsgirl permalink
    13/01/2011 11:11 AM

    Wow! You do a great job dealing with all of those different things, and your positive attitude is amazing!!

  3. 13/01/2011 1:00 PM

    that’s a lot of allergies/intolerances! congrats to you for being so positive about it. i bet you get to experiment a lot! 🙂

  4. 13/01/2011 4:27 PM

    Oh my goodness! I remember on twitter you told me that you could not eat mac and cheese! I am so proud of you for making croc pot amazingness despite not being able to eat many things.

    I love pastaaa!

    • 13/01/2011 4:38 PM

      Thanks Sana. I just made allergen free mac and quinoa tonight that was fun. It’s like a game to me.

      I’m working on trying wheat free pastas now.

      Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  5. 01/02/2011 5:44 PM

    Your positive attitude is so admirable! And hey, you’re not allergic to peanuts!

    • 01/02/2011 8:19 PM

      Thanks. I figure the attitude is better than crying. I have to learn to change up peanut butter because I don’t like the goobers 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Exercise Is Fun + Goals « It All Changes
  2. Date Night, Is Only Natural « It All Changes
  3. Gluten’s Last Stand + Goals « It All Changes
  4. What I Really Lost « It All Changes
  5. New World Bistro Bar » Then Heather Said
  6. Where Have All the Pants Gone? « It All Changes
  7. The Sweet Life « It All Changes
  8. Home Second Home « It All Changes
  9. I’m a During « It All Changes
  10. This Is My Dare | Daring To Grow
  11. Monday Allergy Monday–Day 3 | Daring To Grow

Leave a Reply

