Skip to content

You’re Amazing

11/01/2011

Far too often the words “I can’t” turn into “I won’t.”  Negative thoughts enter and it’s hard to shoo them away.  We focus too much on what we are bad at that we forget we are ALL amazing.  Today take the time to think of the things that make you amazing…because you are!

pointing-finger

(source)

I’m Cynthia, and I’m Amazing at….

  • Life- I’m a good listener.  People are important and I enjoy being a sounding board and shoulder to cry on when things aren’t going right.  I can usually find the silver lining in a bad situation…even in my own life.
  • Fitness- I’m a rehab star.  Nothing close to celebrity rehab, but I am a great student and do my home exercises.  I’m an athlete who wants to be back on the trails, bike and in the gym so I take the rehab seriously.  I may be an injury queen but I keep getting back to it because I love it.
  • Food- No recipe is beyond my reach.  Sure it may have ingredients I can’t eat or don’t want to eat…but I can make it.  I love to tweak, twist, and totally revamp recipes to make them my own.  And I’ve owned my food addictions and problems to make food my friend and no longer the enemy.
  • Health- I stick with it.  Plain and simple.  My health has always been up and down.  From my bipolar disorder diagnosis at 16, weight gain, major back surgery and more, there have been some big downs.  But there have been wonderful ups as well.  Mental health stability through medication and lifestyle changes, losing over 100 pounds, gaining strength and being able to run and recovering from surgery better than ever.  Sure there will be more downs to come and always more ups…but I stick with it.  It’s not an excuse to let my health go to the wayside just because it can be hard.  I have stick-to-it-tiveness…and I’m amazing!

Tell me why you are AMAZING today!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/01/2011 9:35 AM

    What a fantastic post. Happened to find you tweeting about FitBloggin. Hope I’ll meet you there.

  2. 11/01/2011 10:45 AM

    I’m amazing at…

    **Grammar
    **Handwriting
    **Singing in the Shower
    **Spelling
    **Eating Chocolate

  3. ann rennie permalink
    11/01/2011 10:55 AM

    I am amazing because I also am a good listener and at 69 I can do up to 100 laps in the pool and have stayed at my goal weight for almost 5 years.
    I am a great cook and can tweak a recipe to fit in with my weight watchers points plus budget.
    I graduated from college at the age of 59 it’s never too late.
    I am also grateful to you for making me think of this thanks

    Blessings Ann

  4. Barbara permalink
    11/01/2011 10:56 AM

    I’m amazing because I survived emergency surgery last year (my doctor told me only 1 out of 10 people could have survived what I went through! :O )

    And I’m amazing at spelling, writing, trivia, getting really enthusiastic over things, and hope. Hope is the theme of my life!

  5. Sarah permalink
    11/01/2011 1:55 PM

    i’m amazing at:
    lists
    reading
    making kitchen messes
    cleaning kitchen messes
    eating – i will try anything once!
    friendship – i am loyal to the core once i’ve established a friendship with someone. i am definitely proud of that!

  6. 11/01/2011 11:48 PM

    I’m amazing at:
    – cooking and baking
    – being a good listener
    – putting together great outfits for myself and other people based on a person’s body type
    – writing notes with pretty handwriting 🙂

    I’m glad you’re able to overcome negatives in your life with so much positive! I think we all need reminders that we can tell ourselves we’re amazing sometimes 😀

  7. 12/01/2011 6:19 AM

    I love this as Ive been on the HORRIFIED receiving end of other adult women when I tell them what I rock at.
    I can also list all the things I SUCKETH AT too if they’d wanna hear 🙂 but the gift of 41 is knowing what I do well.

    first and foremost Im the best me there is.
    I wont try to be you….and if you dont like my me (and many dont) then mooove on along.

    xo

Leave a Reply

