Skip to content

Yes, That’s a Tree + Goals

10/01/2011

Guess what today is? January 10th.  Probably not the answer you were expecting.  It’s the truth though.  Oh and my Christmas tree is still up.

IMG_6433

I think we are one of the few people with their trees still standing…but it’s tradition in the It All Changes household.  At least in my household.  My birthday is January 12th and my brother’s birthday is January 7th so we always left our Christmas tree up until after my birthday.  There was no way I could stop this tradition as an adult.  It’s my little version of Peter Pan syndrome.

So my Christmas tree is still shining in the corner of the living room until next weekend when we have time to take it down.  Then I have something fun to replace it…you’ll just have to wait and see.

In my defense I’m not as bad as one home on my childhood bus route.  She had a sparkly white Christmas tree on her front porch.  She decorated it for each holiday…even things like arbor day and Presidents Day.  Odd, yes…fun fact to use in party games, absolutely!

Last Week’s Goals:

  • In bed by Midnight and wake up by 8am. Not perfect but much improved.  The only misses of the week were sleeping to noon on Friday due to an allergy reaction and staying up to watch Saturday Night Live on well, Saturday, because Jim Carrey was hosting.  I blame Hunni for the second one because he told me who was hosting and I’ve loved him since In Living Color. Trust me you want to watch the video on this link.
  • Less TV, more reading. So much more gets done when I’m not watching junk and repeats.  There was an entire day I didn’t watch TV this week and didn’t miss a thing.  Instead I wrote more, watched some documentaries I’ve been meaning to see, oh and read.  I finished my latest book and started my first book of my A-Z challengeEverything I need to know about being a girl I learned from Judy Blume by Jennifer O’Connell.  judy blume
  • Cookbook reading. I admit that Eat In Month took a turn for Eat In (More) this month over the weekend.  However the eating out was from the grocery store while picking up ingredients for menus…and a few sick meals since Hunni doesn’t really cook.  My nook is makes it super easy to buy ingredients for recipes since it’s always in my purse.  I can’t wait to show you what I’ve been making.
  • Learn something new. My Google skills have sky rocketed this week.  With a few lessons from my techy guru, I am more organized and less stressed when I look at my inbox, use Google Doc, etc, etc., etc.  Oh the productivity I can achieve now.
  • Date Day. The snow arrived but the snow shoeing didn’t happen.  Instead we spent time watching the NFL playoffs and planning my birthday present while convalescing from sickness.  Time with my guy is good though. Smile
  • Finish budget. Define finished? Okay this didn’t happen as I planned.  Quicken has updated a bit since I used it in college making this more difficult than I thought.  I’m on a learning curve but still working on it.  Working on it did make me more conscious of my spending this past week and it will only get better.

This Week’s Goals:

  • Increase Veggie Intake. Summertime makes veggies so simple…salads, fresh green beans from the farmers’ market, tomatoes eaten like apples.  Cold winters are difficult…salads are not appealing in 2 feet of snow.  I’m great with eating my fruits because they are SUGAR!!!  Veggies this week need to be purposely incorporated into meals.  I purchased them so I’ll eat them since I hate waste.
  • Menus. Last week I had plans…but didn’t stick to them.  I made many meals but snow and an unexpected sleepover left me a bit off my schedule.  This week I’ve inventoried the kitchen and made menus…especially since I had too much fun at the grocery store and need to use what I have.
  • Enjoy my birthday. I’m going to be 29 this year (really)…I’m going to enjoy it.  Hunni and I have a few plans up our sleeves.  It’s about celebrating being alive for another year.
  • Consistent Exercise. I want to exercise and I am exercising…just not as much as I would like.  New plans are to get in a bit of exercise each day.  Consistency is better than overdoing it one day and nothing for 3 days.  Building a routine is more important to me than being superwoman.
  • Write three real letters. My heart sank when I opened the mailbox this week only to find bills, junk and a few magazines.  I miss the days of mailboxes full of Christmas cards.  Perhaps if I write some friends, they’ll write back.  A girl can hope.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/01/2011 9:46 AM

    I love your goals posts 🙂 Is that weird?

    I’ve also been thinking about how to increase veggie intake. Last week, I did what you are doing this week — buying the veggies and making plans to eat them. Turns out this is the way to go — I also can’t stand wasting. If it’s in my fridge, I’ll eat it. If I have a meal planned, I really will cook it, if it’s at all feasible.

    • 10/01/2011 11:04 AM

      Not weird at all. I loved them on my friend Kara’s blog and that’s why I started doing them. The remind me to do the little things that would slip through the cracks.

      Incorporating veggies in is the best way for me. Otherwise I’d be on a Clementine binge. Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  2. 10/01/2011 4:13 PM

    i love your goal of writing real letters. i love real mail too – i think everyone does! imagine how happy you’ll make those people who you send letters to. 🙂

  3. 10/01/2011 9:07 PM

    We have an opposite tree tradition in our house. My husb’s bday is in mid-December, so we don’t put a tree up until then, so he gets to have his birthday before Christmas overwhelms! We had neighbors who I think were pagans and had a “winter” tree. I think they put it up around December 22 and I know they kept it up until the spring soltice – they had it fully decorated and lit up in their picture window long past Valentine’s Day!

  4. 10/01/2011 11:12 PM

    Yay, January babies, my b-day is Jan. 13!

    Also, my parents have a friend that leaves the tree up and decorates it each month. They have a house on the smaller side, so I have no idea where they store all the stuff! Otherwise, I’d probably do it too. : )

  5. actorsdiet permalink
    14/01/2011 3:33 AM

    love that your tree is still up. mine would be too, usually!

    • 14/01/2011 11:59 AM

      It’s a fight to get it up since Hunni didn’t have one for many years so once it’s up I don’t want to take it down. Such great memories in that corner of the living room…on the tree :0) Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

Trackbacks

  1. Speed Reader « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

