Skip to content

Wiggle Room

08/01/2011

2011 is officially one week old.  I’m sure most people had goals for the new year whether they were little or big.  The traditional resolutions are set when we are full of excitement for what the next 365.25 day will bring – the .25 add up to February 29 on a leap year…yes I was on the Science team in High School.  Typical resolutions are set in the stratosphere.

  • Go to the gym everyday.
  • Do push ups/sit ups/ jumping jacks before bed.
  • No more eating fast food – or eating out in general.
  • Kick the sugar habit.
  • Lose all the extra weight by Valentine’s Day – or the summer if we are being kind.
  • Eat only organic, vegetarian, or vegan foods.

And theses are only the food and fitness related resolutions.  They basically don’t allow for life to happen.  Forrest Gump said it best…

Once you miss the first day of your new resolution the rest fall out the door.  We enter this all or nothing mentality.  “I already blew it today so I might as well eat a bag of chips on the couch while watching reruns.”

Instead of falling into the same cycle year after year…allow yourself some wiggle room.  Sure, I’d love to go the gym 7 days a week but I’m sick as I write this so I decided to stay home in bed so that I might be able to go tomorrow – if I feel better.  I’d love to kick the sugar habit but I know that muffins and cookies taste to good to avoid them…unless I live on a dessert island – I mean desert island.

If you started 2011 as a resolutioner – joining the gym or starting a program like Weight Watchers – be encouraged.  You are making a great decision for you and your health.  Not every decision will be perfect…perfection is too freaking hard.  Instead give yourself a little wiggle room…you’ll enjoy life a heck of a lot more.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/01/2011 7:27 AM

    So much of this has been on my mind lately — trying to stop seeking perfection, allowing myself some room to adjust my plans or goals. You’re right — setting these kinds of health goals is great for our health. But making our goals flexible enough to let life just happen, and for us to still be working towards getting healthier in one way or another, is really important! That’s probably the only way we’ll stay motivated, in the end! 🙂

    • 08/01/2011 2:52 PM

      Having goals to work toward but not beating myself up if I didn’t execute them perfectly was the only way I was able to succeed. Otherwise I did a better job of beating myself up than being healthy. Cynthia 🙂 -Healthy Living Blogger http://itallchanges.com

  2. 08/01/2011 1:06 PM

    great thoughts! i definitely gave myself wiggle room with my resolutions this year, and i’m happy to say that i think i’ve been doing way better on them than i ever have in years past when i demanded perfection. 🙂 hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

