Skip to content

The Stories from A-Z

06/01/2011

**Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for the Williams-Sonoma Food Made Fast: Vegetarian Cookbook and Kitchen Aid Silicone Spatula.  Entries close Friday 7 January 2011 at Midnight.**

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

One of my goals for 2011 is to create an A to Z reading list.  Technically I lied to y’all because I started making it back in October.  A lot of my Good Reads friends took on this challenge and I saw it as a way to expand beyond the chick lit and health books I normally read.

My friends are super readers compared to me…I’m shocked at the number of books they read in a year.  It might have something to do with their ratio of TV watching to book reading.

Heather’s recent challenge to watch less TV really spurred me on to make this a personal goal.  Some shows Hunni and I truly enjoy and others we watch and re-watch and watch again.  I don’t need to know any more about murder, prisons and death…yes those make up the majority of our shows with a bit of Glee thrown in.

In High School, college and while teaching I hardly watched TV.  My nose was normally stuck in a book and I lived in the library.  Books were an escape to new worlds.  This year I hope to travel strange and exciting places without ever leaving my nook.  Yeah I earned that baby and since Christmas I’ve completed two books already.  Yahoo!

So here’s the stories from A to Z…I want to read.  Sorry, I almost turned into a Spice Girl –I’m Sporty Spice…or perhaps Garlic Girl.

sporty spiceIMG_6330

I’ll save that for the long car rides with Hunni when we’re bored. Smile

Oh yeah…The list.  My A to Z book list.  I want to cross off 26 before the ball drops on 2012.

A- Await Your Reply by Dan Chaon

B- Buffalo Soldier by Chris Bohjalian

C- The Crucible by Arthur Miller

D- Dubliners by James Joyce

E- Everything I need to know about being a girl I learned from Judy Blume

by Jennifer O’Connell

F- Fortune’s Rocks by Anita Shreve

G- God’s in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson

H- Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffengger

I- The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott

J- Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson

K- The Known World by Edward P. Jones

L- Life of Pi by Yan Martel

M- A Million Little Pieces by James Frey

N- Native Son by Richard Wright

O- One Day by David Nicholls

P- Pigs in Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver

Q- The Quality of Life Report by Meghan Dawn

R- The Road by Cormac McCarthy

S- Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

T- A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

U- Under the Banner of Heaven by John Krakauer

V- The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler

W- The Widower’s Tale by Julia Glass

X- Life Expectancy by Dean Kountz

Y- The Year of Pleasures by Elizabeth Berg

Z- Zlata’s Diary – Zlata Filipovic

Unlike my usual habits with list making, I didn’t add books I already have plans to read with friends or books that I read before 2011 began.  I get strange pleasure out of adding things I’ve already done or the obvious basic tasks to everyday lists for the satisfaction of crossing them off.  It’s a sickness…I know.

This list however is full of books I probably should have read in High School or college…or books that friends have been telling me about for years but I “never had time” to read.  There are the few odd ones thrown in that sounded interesting when recommended and I wanted to spice it up. Besides do you know how hard it is to find books that start with V, X or Z?

This list may or may not be completed in a year…but I will complete it.  I love the challenge to read and enjoy books.  That is why they were written after all.  Now pardon me while I go snuggle up with my Nook.

IMG_6348

What is your favorite book?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/01/2011 9:22 AM

    What a fun goal! Are you going to let us know what you think about the books as you read them? I’d love to hear your thoughts on some of these. Jacob Have I Loved is wonderful — it’s been a while since I’ve read it, but I remember it being very touching.

    • 06/01/2011 12:03 PM

      I’m hoping to update as I read books as accountability for myself. I might add it as a separate page. But I am a big fan of accountability and book recommendations so I think it would be a good idea.

  2. Toni permalink
    06/01/2011 2:00 PM

    What a fantastic goal! I see a lot of titles on your list that are already on my “To Be Read” list, and a few that I had to check out and then add to my ever-growing list.

    May I make a suggestion from my own experience? After you read the Secret Life of Bees, watch the movie (assuming you haven’t already seen it) and then read the book again. You get so much more out of the book the second time through, after seeing it on screen. Just my opinion, of course….

  3. Barbara permalink
    06/01/2011 4:16 PM

    That’s a great list–some of those book are on my must read soon list, too. Except for “W” I have Water for Elephants waiting to be read. But I may “borrow” some of your list, too. 😉

    My two all-time favourite, never get tired of rereading them books are Pride and Prejudice and To Kill a Mockingbird. Also, I love Sherlock Holmes.

    • 06/01/2011 5:10 PM

      Water for Elephants is a great book. I read it recently and loved it. Feel free to “borrow my list.” I borrowed from friends.

  4. 06/01/2011 4:37 PM

    This is such a great idea! One of my goals for 2011 was to read more but I like this idea way way better 🙂
    I bought the book for G a few months ago but still haven’t read it. And you will absolutely love the book for T, it’s so great.
    I have a lot of problems with picking favorite books, I’ve read so many great things to pick just a handful!

    • 06/01/2011 5:14 PM

      I got the T idea from a good friend…it is her favorite book. You should make your own list.

  5. 06/01/2011 4:57 PM

    i don’t have a fave book but i definitely love certain authors: haruki murakami, tom perrota, and judy blume + beverly cleary (i still read kids books) are at the top of my list. right now i’m reading a nick hornby book and love that too.

    • 06/01/2011 5:13 PM

      I have a current favorite author but I’m always looking for new ones. I’ll have to check out the two you mentioned I don’t know.

  6. 07/01/2011 1:05 AM

    I always add things to lists that I’ve already done. 🙂 Fave book: Neruda’s Collected Poems, Their Eyes Were Watching God, Harry Potter Series, Morrison’s Song of Solomon….ahhh, so many!

    • 07/01/2011 1:18 PM

      Neruda was my favorite thing to read in college. I was a Spanish lit major. I have a friend who has a line from one of his poems on her arm.

  7. 07/01/2011 2:29 AM

    I do have to say Judy Blume may have taught me a little too much in my innocent years!

    • 07/01/2011 1:19 PM

      Judy Blume taught me so much that when my friend Manda mentioned this book I knew I had to add it.

  8. Nan permalink
    07/01/2011 5:27 PM

    Just found your blog- I have read most of the books on your list. I journal all the books I read each year with a few lines and rating. Probably my favorite book is Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner. It won the Pulitzer in the early 70s. Right now I am reading Joyce Maynard’s Good Daughters. Last year I read 111 ending with Room which was quite disturbing! I always try to beat the previous year but I don’t think I will be able to this year since I changed jobs.

    • 07/01/2011 10:00 PM

      Sounds like you have a great list. I used to read a ton and miss it so that is why I started the list. Let me know if you know any other fun ones.

  9. Mandy permalink
    12/01/2011 11:09 PM

    I am so happy to see your list and can’t wait to see what you think of some of these!

Trackbacks

  1. Yes, That’s a Tree + Goals « It All Changes
  2. Exercise Is Fun + Goals « It All Changes
  3. Belonging with Judy Blume « It All Changes
  4. Goals Glorious Goals « It All Changes
  5. Speed Reader « It All Changes
  6. How is 2011 Going? « It All Changes
  7. It’s 3am… « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

