Skip to content

Eat In Month + Goals

03/01/2011

November and December days are filled with take out, grab and go and eat when you can.  I tried to make meals ahead ala a 50’s TV dinner…but it turns out I’m allergic to almost everything I made.  Ooops.

Honestly, by this time every year I’m sick of eating out.  We live in a little town and there aren’t too many take out options.  You can only eat sushi so many times in one week before you would rather just eat applesauce and coffee for dinner.

Now that January brings back the normal days I’m ready to eat at home.  Better yet I’m ready to eat in all month.  Diana at The Chic Life has a great challenge for January 2011:  Eat In Month.

eatin

Diana has a great list of guidelines if you are going gung-ho for the challenge.  I will do my best but I’m taking my friend Theodora’s idea and make it Eat In (More) Month.  We tend to have work events or meetings that pop up requiring us to eat out.  However we are going to make personal meals at home.  This means I need to get to work on menu planning and grocery shopping.  Bonus for you readers because I’ll be back on the creative recipe train and have fun things to post for you…like the dinner I can smell right now.  Boy does it smell good.

You can take Diana’s challenge to Eat in all month or just eat in more.  I’m sure our stomachs and wallets would appreciate it after a busy holiday season full of cookies, parties and presents.

Are you in for the challenge?

+++++++++++++++

How about some other challenges/goals of my own.

Last Week’s Goals:

  • Be a big kid. Cookie baking, playing with the dogs, watching Nickelodeon, and random snow fun.  So good to be a kid for a week.  Now back to work.  Sad smile I’ll pretend to be a kid on the weekend.
  • Regular workouts. I got in some workouts including yoga, running and biking…but they were anything but regular.  I think I was having too much fun being a big kid and spending time with family.
  • New Year’s fun. Sleepovers are so much fun.  I don’t know why I stopped having sleep overs in college.  Great conversation and food before getting some rest for our Hangover race…don’t worry we weren’t hung over.  We kicked butt.
  • More tests. A crazy blizzard had other plans for my allergy tests.  With over 2 feet of snow I couldn’t have gone for my tests even if the doctor’s office was open.  I’m rescheduled for this morning at 10:45.  Good thoughts and prayers would be appreciated.
  • Grocery shopping. Five people eat a lot of food.  A LOT!  Lucky for Hunni and I keep a stocked pantry so we have food to eat for this week until I can plan grocery shopping for just the two of us.

This Week’s Goals:

  • In bed by Midnight and wake up by 8am. Insomnia runs rampant in my head during the busy work season.  And then I get addicted to shows like Lock up and American Pickers.  I feel crabby when I don’t get enough sleep and don’t wake up well.  Time to regulate my body clock.  I will turn into a pumpkin at midnight and wake up at a decent time to get ready for work.
  • Less TV, more reading. See above.  I’ve been watching stuff I don’t normally or repeats of shows I’ve already seen 10 times.  I think I could tell you more about some prisons than anyone should know.  This week I’m going to put my new nook to good use and read books in my free time.  Hunni and I have a few shows we love but others are just for noise and are non-sense.
  • Cookbook reading. Since I’m doing the Eat In challenge I need some new recipe ideas.  I also have to make some big dietary changes soon, so I need inspiration.  Cookbook reading leaves drool on my pillow while reading in bed from the yummy tastes instead of naps.
  • Learn something new. They say you learn something new every day but I’ve been going through the motions lately.  My cookbook reading is teaching me some new foods and preparations.  I also want to learn to use my current camera to take better photos and many other fun things.
  • Date Day. Date days have been quick and easy movies or lunch grabbed at the coffee shop between meetings.  Now we have our date day back and have been planning fun.  First up: Snowshoeing…as long as we have snow.  The 45 degree temperatures might thwart this and then I think we’ll explore Brattleboro.
  • Finish budget. Quicken installed.  Most accounts added.  Money divided.  Now I need to double-check and start keeping track.  I think we might need to employ Bobbi’s actual envelope method when it comes to certain categories…especially groceries.  That’s my favorite kind of shopping.  But we will get this in order.

Check in tomorrow for a fun giveaway from It All Changes.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/01/2011 11:44 AM

    I need to do more cookbook reading as well! My boyfriend and I are both trying to eat out less and cook more together. Post any great cookbooks you come across…I’d love suggestions 🙂

  2. 03/01/2011 12:05 PM

    B-Fry and I are doing an eat in challenge this month. We’re going on vacation at the end of the month, so we need to save all the cash we can!

    It’ll be tough, but well worth it!

    • 03/01/2011 1:39 PM

      All the money you save will be a great addition to your vacation budget 🙂 I can’t wait to see any recipes you post.

  3. 04/01/2011 12:00 AM

    Thanks for the shoutout 🙂 Trying to prepare *every* meal is too much pressure for me, but I can do *most* meals!

    • 04/01/2011 12:06 AM

      My thoughts exactly. There will be days when I’m running errands that I have to grab something to go…but I want to do most meals and save my budget.

  4. 04/01/2011 11:08 AM

    I think that is a great challenge! But, with Bri being here this month (:D ) we will definitely be hitting up lots of nice restaurants. The food in Afghanistan is disgusting apparently and he needs some treats!

    • 04/01/2011 11:10 AM

      You can do it before he arrives and after he leaves. I totally agrees MRE’s and chow hall food isn’t good. Treat him to some nice meals.

Trackbacks

  1. The Stories from A-Z « It All Changes
  2. When Lentils Go Wrong « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

