Skip to content

Bundled Up of Nerves

02/01/2011

Saturday I ran one of my dream races: A New Year’s Day race. The location wasn’t important…the dream to watch the ball drop at midnight and run in the freezing cold the next morning.  Yes the freezing cold is part of it…I’ve lived in the Northeast most of my life and a cold New Year’s Day is a given.

This year was the year.  Four days before New Year’s some Capital District blends and I made plans to run a The Hudson Mohawk Hangover Half.  Heather, Jen, Katie, Melissa and Erica were such great motivation to get out there.  They did not however tell me my Bondi Band was upside down.  Ooops Open-mouthed smile

hangover half

(photo courtesy of Jen is Green)

Trust me I’m NOT crazy enough to run a half-marathon with no training but  the 3.5 mile version was perfect.  A new distance, on a great day, with a group of girls I love was a perfect way to start the year.

The shorter distance option was a relief since my last race was a 5K Turkey Trot.  That didn’t eliminate all my nerves however.  My nerves showed up in quirky ways.

  • I picked my gear days in advance. And then picked another outfit, and another, and another.  I threw them all in my overnight bag and decided Heather could choose. IMG_6206The decision was too difficult without knowing the weather and being an outdoor winter runner.
  • Food, food, food. My traditional pre-run breakfast is…well, full of things that I’m allergic to.  This means I was winging it on race day.  The only certain thing was my coffee for, uh, regularity. Winking smile IMG_3814
  • Gear re-do. Prior to my injury in April I ran with an iPod Nano, Nike Sport Kit+, Heart Rate Monitor, a water bottle and raisins.  I was a running geek. Since the injury a few things have been “misplaced”. I’m left with the HRM watch, an iPod and a smile. IMG_6209
  • Multiple cash stashes for the race fee. I’ll say it again…I’m a planner.  I pay for race registrations months in advance and print the receipt a few days before, just.in.case.  This had day-only registration.  I’m sure they thought people wouldn’t show up.  They don’t call it the Hang-over half for nothing.  Instead I had cash stashed in my wallet and in a second wallet to make sure it was ready.IMG_6212 Good thing because someone forgot theirs. Winking smile

The race was a fabulous and relaxing way to start the year with friends.  Not to mention the wonderful brunch after at Café Madison. The nerves were needless on all fronts.  I can’t imagine a better way to start 2011.  I can’t wait to do another race. Smile

race finishBy the way, Erica was awesome and took this picture of Heather and I as we crossed the finish line.  Our goal was “to finish” since we are coming off injuries.  We did more than finish…we were so proud of our time… 43:30!!!! *

12 Comments leave one →
  1. michelle permalink
    02/01/2011 2:21 PM

    That’s a GREAT way to start the new year! 🙂

  2. 02/01/2011 3:34 PM

    So true – a race with people you like on New Years Day is a great way to kick off the year. The hubby and I did a 5k that day too. Fun stuff.
    Happy New Year!

  3. 02/01/2011 6:27 PM

    Congrats on your race! I love how prepared you are…perhaps I can adopt some of that thinking in the new year 🙂

  4. 02/01/2011 8:33 PM

    Nice way to start the new year – running with friends! And good food afterwards!

Trackbacks

  1. Eat In Month + Goals « It All Changes
  2. Challenging Me « It All Changes
  3. Fitness Bucket List « It All Changes
  4. How is 2011 Going? « It All Changes
  5. This Little Veggie Went to Market « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

