Skip to content

How Do You Learn Fractions?

28/12/2010

Being a big planner, I had all sorts of activities planned for my cousins during their visit.  Then we woke up to this…

IMG_6139

Yeah 20 inches of snow and gusts of wind to blow it around didn’t make for a people friendly day.  Besides the cars were playing hide and go seek under the snow.

IMG_6145

Scratch sledding off today’s list and move on to something else.  The girls – my cousins –  have tests when they go back to school, so we needed to do some studying.  By the way, don’t teachers know it’s a mean trick to have a test after a holiday?

First there was talking about erosion and how the snow would have a physical erosion effect on the mountains.

Then there were fractions.

IMG_6109

How did you learn fractions as a kid?  Lots of discussion on mixed numbers, improper fractions, reducing and all the math of adding, subtracting, multiplication and division. BORING! In the It All Changes house we practice fractions with…

IMG_6102

BAKING!!! Cookies to be exact.  Recipes are a perfect way to teach fractions.  First the adults have to figure out how many eighths go into 2 1/2 cups of flour…

IMG_6149

Then the girls get to measuring.  Many many utensils later we have cookie dough for Heather’s Peppermint Pinwheels.

IMG_6113 IMG_6104

A bit of pink, yellow and green to make them nice and girly.

IMG_6117IMG_6118IMG_6116

Perhaps someone should have taught me to put on my apron.  I guess there will be laundry later.

IMG_6119

Surprisingly, despite a few missteps, we ended up with cute and yummy cookies.  IMG_6138I wasn’t the judge because they were a no-no for me.  But official cookie testers thought they were fantastic.

IMG_6132IMG_6134

Hunni found the perfect one for him after a day of shoveling and snow  blowing.  Slightly devilish but extremely happy.

IMG_6136

I have a feeling there are a few more batches of cookies in our snowy future…perhaps some thin mints and gooey butter cookies.  Learning math has never been so fun.

Do you like to learn things in interesting ways?  Did you have a “snow day” today?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/12/2010 11:56 AM

    Cool. That cookie looks like a Jack-o-lantern.

  2. 29/12/2010 1:28 AM

    I know everyone thinks I’m crazy since it’s warm and summery here, but I miss snow. It looks so lovely! Hehe.

    • 29/12/2010 11:33 AM

      Hehe! That is great Mary. I’d miss the snow if everyone was talking about it too. But I love your beach pictures.

  3. 29/12/2010 10:26 AM

    If only an adult had used BAKING to teach me fractions when I was growing up, I probably wouldn’t have scrapped by in math class with C’s and D’s.

    • 29/12/2010 11:30 AM

      Aww Heidi. Now you know the key for your new little one. Cookies and cake will get them every time 🙂

  4. 29/12/2010 2:33 PM

    Oh God. Doing fractions while baking is always tough for me. That’s how I ended up with one inch high banana bread. Translation: a banana brick.

    • 29/12/2010 2:39 PM

      Banana bricks and banana pudding have happened in the past. This time we checked their measurements first and did the math second 🙂

Leave a Reply

