Skip to content

Welsh Cookies–Recipe

23/12/2010

While most families spend their Christmas baking time making iced sugar cookies, gingerbread men and peanut butter blossoms, my family only made one cookie…Welsh Cookies.  When you come from a Welsh family you make things like Welsh Cookies, Prince of Wales cake and many other British foods like mincemeat pie.

Welsh cookies are such a tradition for me that I emailed my mom for the recipe while in Spain so that I could make them with my study abroad and Spanish friends.  These cookies are serious business in my family.

They are also serious work.  Unique ingredients, multiple steps and griddling instead baking.  Trust me …they are so worth it.  Here is the traditional recipe as well as my healthy-fied version.

Traditional Welsh Cookies

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 cups All purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 10 oz. dried currants

For griddling:

  • Cooking spray or 1 tbsp. butter
  • Sugar if desired for sprinkling

Healthy-fied Welsh Cookies:

  • 1 cup beet sugar
  • 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup All purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 flax egg or equivalent in egg replacer
  • 1/2 cup rice milk
  • 10 oz. dried currants
  • Cooking spray or Earth Balance for griddling.

**Not much difference in the healthy version.  But I am lactose intolerant and cane sugar intolerant, so I changed those.**

Instructions:

  1. Combine sugar, flour, salt and baking powder into bowl.  Stir until combined.IMG_5695
  2. Cut in Butter/Earth Balance in 1/4 inch cubes until mixture is crumbly. IMG_5702 This requires serious muscles which reminds me I really need to get my strength training in gear. Toss in currants.  My family stockpiles these things just for Welsh cookies.  I’ve also used them in my blondies. IMG_5710
  3. In separate bowl combine “milk” and “egg”.  Beat with fork until frothy. IMG_5711 Add to dry mixture and mix until just combined; should be the consistency of pastry dough.  Grandma taught me that hands are sometimes the best tools for this.  Just remember to remove your ring. Winking smile IMG_5707
  4. Let chill for at least 30 minutes. Resist eating the yummy dough.  I can’t resist it ever…but you should try so you’ll have more cookies.IMG_5713 After chilling remove and place on floured surface and roll to 1/4 inch thickness.  Use cookie or biscuit cutters to make desired shapes. cookie_cutters
  5. To cook:  Heat large griddle or skillet until a drop of water dances across the surface.  Grease using “butter” or cooking spray.  Place each cookie on griddle for 3 minutes per side or until golden brown.  Be sure to use spatula large enough to turn entire cookie to avoid breaking. welsh cookies
  6. Remove to wired rack and sprinkle with sugar (my family doesn’t do this step) and allow to cool.  Best stored in Tupperware or they may be frozen for later use…if there is a “later”.  I ate a lot of dough and many cookies before they made it to the freezer.  Open-mouthed smile

Extra Welsh Family Tips:

  • Currants aren’t weird…but if you can’t find them or don’t like them you can substitute raisins.
  • The cookies are not too sweet and are meant to be enjoyed with tea or coffee.
  • Perfect midnight snack after a long Christmas day.
  • Try them as a cookie sandwich with Egg Nog ice cream or Coconut Bliss in Vanilla Island (it’s made with AGAVE!!!).

Momma is supposed to be bringing me my yearly Christmas batch.  She has been doing so since I went to college.  I try to make them last but Hunni is the new cookie monster and my cousins will be visiting so I don’t think they will last long…but I’m willing to share.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 23/12/2010 9:37 AM

    What a warm and comforting cookies. It sounds intereting and delicious 🙂

  2. 23/12/2010 3:21 PM

    wow never heard of currants before!!! love learning new foodie things 🙂

    great recipe!

Leave a Reply

