Skip to content

Not Dead Yet

22/12/2010

I love Christmas.  I don’t like the six weeks before Christmas full of work, work, and more work.  I enjoy my job but this is a stressful time of year where I never seem to sit still and miss spending time with my friends.

But work is almost done…almost.  All the toys are gone to kids who will smile Christmas morning as they rip open the paper as the turkey cooks in the oven.  The last of the turkeys and hams will be given to seniors at the assisted living facility tomorrow.  And then I can die sleep.

I had a training school (Salvation Army seminary) teacher who loved to quote Monty Python.  He sends emails occasionally asking, “Are you dead yet?”  The correct response is “I’m not dead yet.” ala Monty Python and the Holy Grail.  This year I wasn’t so sure I would be able to say so…but I made it.  Barely, but I’m not dead yet.  Tired, drained, exhausted, etc., etc., etc.…but not dead.  And I’m extremely blessed that I was able to make Christmas a bit brighter for people in need.

Now to go curl up and sleep for a few days and enjoy Saturday with Hunni and our traditional movie and Chinese food to relax.

I skipped last week’s goals because work was nuts.  Let’s just say some were done and others weren’t and I’m okay with that.  I did the best I could and I’m happy I got as much done as possible.

This week’s goals (yes I’m aware that the week is half over):

  • Finish Christmas work. Half the work is done.  The rest is soon to be done.  And we are preparing for Sunday after Christmas service.  Oh and New Years prep is almost done too. Smile
  • Prep menus for next week. Hunni and I have been all over the map this last month.  My allergy testing put a wrench in my premade meal plans (more on this later, I promise).  Momma, my cousins and one of my best friends from college will be visiting so I need real meals.  Such a shock to my food system, but I’m happy to be back to real food.
  • Rest. Sleep…what is that?  Oh that thing that helps you to recharge your batteries.  Yeah that will be a joy this week.
  • Rejoice. Sure I’m rejoicing that work is over…for now.  But I’m rejoicing that family is coming, I get to spend time with friends…but most importantly, Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Christ and I rejoice in that.

And with that I’m off to finish my last bit and rejoice because…I’m not dead, yet.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/12/2010 8:53 PM

    I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately. The Salvation Army seems to be everywhere this time of you so I’m sure you’re insanely busy. I appreciate each and everything you do and I know there are countless families and children who do, too.

    And I’m glad you’re not dead. 🙂

    • 22/12/2010 8:57 PM

      Thank you so much Katie. I survived and I’m tired but extremely happy to do what I do. 🙂

  2. 22/12/2010 9:18 PM

    Congrats for making it through the madness. This time of year is so chaotic!

    • 22/12/2010 9:23 PM

      Thank you so much. It is very chaotic and I’m not the chaos type. I’m too much of a control freak 🙂

Leave a Reply

