Skip to content

Happy 2011 4all!

19/12/2010

As a kid I was pretty active.  Lots of bike riding, brother chasing and playground games…typical kid stuff.  It kept me pretty fit…or at least fit enough to keep chasing my little brother. Open-mouthed smile

IMG_6093

As a teen it all went downhill.  Copious amounts of buffalo wings dipped in blue cheese, burger joints and ice cream with friends quickly piled on the pounds.  I’m uncoordinated so marching band was my sport of choice…and yes band is a sport.  But not enough activity to counteract all the food I was eating.  I definitely was not the picture of health.

church

One thing bad did though was give me great legs.  They are my best feature from all the years marching backwards on my toes – the only way piccolo players move.

IMG_4926

Fast forward to almost 2011 and I’m shocked how this girl…

IMG_6089

became this girl.

Back to it 006

Well I do know how…she ate right and exercised (the magic pill Smile), but it’s still shocking.

This past year I overdid it on the fitness front.  Too much of one thing and too little of others, led to spending the majority of my year as injured Cynthia instead fit Cynthia.

knee

I want 2011 to be the year of no injury…the year of getting the fit me back after convalescing for a year.  It WILL be, I promise myself.

At my fittest I can leap tall buildings in a single bound and then bench press them for fun…okay maybe not.

But at my fittest I’m a combo of running freak, cardio queen, yoga guru and strength fanatic.  Balance, Balance, Balance.

scale

2011 is my year to get my total fitness back.  I’m proud of my accomplishments with Personal Records at races but I want to be fit for the long-term.

That is why this year I am pledging to get me back.  In 2011 I’m pledging to:

  • Try at least one new fitness thing a month. I didn’t say I’d like it…but I’ll try it.  I have tons of videos still in the cellophane and a gym membership with a great class schedule.  But spin is still scary.
  • Strength train at least 2x per week. Back surgery is on my calendar somewhere in my future, but with strength training I can push it back a few years.  Besides I love the funny looks from the weight room guys when I can do moves they never thought of. Smile
  • Train for races my body can handle. I’m not Kara Goucher so why should I push myself like her?  Instead I’ll train the way my body works.  I’ll listen to the twinges and pulls and ouches in my legs and embrace things like the ice baths and stretching.
  • Stretch and pull. Oh yoga, how I love thee. Yet you are expensive, non-existent in my town and sleep inducing.  The first two I can remedy with DVD’s and an occasional trip to yoga with friends who don’t live in the sticks.  The last is actually a nice benefit.  Who doesn’t want a little nap after a great workout, as long as you don’t snore in savasana. Smile

The new year is coming all too fast and I enjoy goals…so there they are.  I want to be in the best shape of my life and be proud of the work I put into me since I put so much work into everything else.  It is my year and I WILL do it…for me.

The above post is my entry for the Team 4all.  Whether I’m selected or not to participate I’m keeping these goals.  They are mine to make me more…me.  I crave balance and it’s about time I stopped talking and start doing.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/12/2010 8:57 AM

    Great post and goals, Cynthia. I wish you all the best in achieving every single one in 2011. 🙂

  2. 19/12/2010 12:34 PM

    THESE are SUCH good goals. I LOVE LOVE LOVE “train for races my body can handle!” that is SO perfect!

    I want to try new fitness things too! We should do a few fun activities together this coming year!

    xoxox

    • 19/12/2010 2:48 PM

      I’m seeing some yoga, races and fun classes like Zumba in our future. 🙂 Our bodies can handle those.

  3. 19/12/2010 10:47 PM

    Great goals, Cynthia! I am all about the bliss of savasana 🙂

    2011 will be a great year for you!

  4. 20/12/2010 6:37 PM

    Great goals! Hopefully the strength training will help you to put off the surgery. Surgery stinks.

  5. 20/12/2010 9:43 PM

    Awesome goals! I too want to try out different workout routines in 2011! And I want to try a new recipe every month. I need some spice in my excersise and food life!

    • 20/12/2010 10:26 PM

      I’m all about trying new recipes. I get bored with food too easy and find myself reaching for junk. Instead I experiment with healthy food to keep me interested. We should swap recipes.

Trackbacks

  1. Welsh Cookies–Recipe « It All Changes
  2. Challenging Me « It All Changes
  3. Shrinking My Jeans « It All Changes
  4. Mat & More – Review « It All Changes
  5. How is 2011 Going? « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

