Skip to content

Banh Mi–Recipe

15/12/2010

I blame Lynn and Momma for this recipe.  Well I guess I should thank them because it is delicious.  Let me explain.

While on vacation at Momma’s this summer she was watching The Great Food Truck Race.  I’d heard of the show but it was on at the same time as one of our shows so we I didn’t watch it.  But when in Rome do as the Romans…so we watched the show with Momma’s while on vacation.  After watching the marathon we were rooting for the Nom Nom Truck to win.

*Spoiler Alert: They didn’t…those burger guys did.*

Looking at their delicious food was the one and only time I wanted to utter the phrase, “Nom Nom Nom.”

Six months after vacation I randomly threw some teriyaki tempeh into my grocery cart at the co-op.  I figured I’d use it in something.  Last week, without inspiration I tweeted for ideas.

tempeh idea

The lovely Lynn suggested I create a banh mi.  A bit of googling and innovating later I created my version of the banh mi.

Ingredients:

IMG_6016

Serves 2

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 block teriyaki tempeh (or you can marinate your own for about 30 minutes)
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar (I used beet sugar, of course)
  • 1/2 cup frozen spinach
  • 2 whole wheat tortillas

Instructions:

  1. Place spinach in microwave to defrost.  You’ll need 1/2 thawed…the rest goes great in soup or as a side dish for later in the week.
  2. Meanwhile, peel carrot.  I also used the peeler to create ribbons of carrot instead of dirtying the food processor.  IMG_6017I’m sure Hunni appreciated this Open-mouthed smile
  3. Place carrots into bowl with vinegar and sugar to pickle them for about 10 minutes. IMG_6018IMG_6019 Lynn told me this was essential and boy is she right.
  4. Slice tempeh into 1/4 inch slices. IMG_6025 This is local tempeh made in Vermont and is some of the best I’ve ever had. IMG_6024
  5. Heat 1 tsp. of olive oil in skillet and place tempeh in to warm through.  Flip once to get a nice crust on both sides.
  6. Add carrots, spinach and some of the vinegar and cook down.  IMG_6027Once you feel your nose hairs about to burn out because of the vinegar they are done.
  7. Layer 1/2 tempeh and vegetable mixture into a tortilla and roll.  If you have cilantro it adds a nice bright spicy bite.IMG_6028The perfect quick lunch and leftovers can go in the fridge to be reheated later.  It has been my go to all week. Smile IMG_6030

I told myself I wasn’t going to say it but this recipe is Nom, Nom, Nom Open-mouthed smile

What is your go to lunch?

*Check out my back to running story on And Her Little Dog Too at noon today.  Leslie is a great Philly runner who is on a Christmas vacation with her fiance.  She ran two marathons in a month.  That’s crazy but I love it because so am I.  Check out my post because it’s silly and goofy and totally me. Smile*

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/12/2010 8:44 AM

    Would chicken work in this? I would think so, but I always like to ask. This recipe looks fabulous!

    Thanks!

  2. 15/12/2010 9:09 AM

    What a delicious wrap! It looks so healthy and comforting. It sounds addictive 🙂

  3. 15/12/2010 9:48 AM

    This is different and looks great. Thanks for sharing.

  4. actorsdiet permalink
    15/12/2010 11:49 AM

    i’m so glad it worked out! fyi – i think all your links are going back to this post!

  5. 15/12/2010 11:05 PM

    I’ve actually never tried tempeh but I’m very curious! I hear it’s really good

  6. 16/12/2010 7:23 PM

    I LOVED Food Truck Race! Hoping it comes back for another season.

    I’ve never had tempeh, but your creation looks delish!

    • 16/12/2010 7:39 PM

      It was actually a fun show once we watched. Hunni and I really got into it.

      Tempeh has a different texture but a great flavor.

  7. 19/12/2010 5:26 PM

    Oh, THANK THE LORD! Another woman who lost weight and is vegetarian/vegan. Thank you for existing! I thought I was alone.

    P.S. You are amazing and I’m so happy that we appear to have found each other. Thank you so much for your inspiration! You look marvelous!

Trackbacks

  1. Making New Friends « Up Fit Creek

Leave a Reply

