Skip to content

Weight Watchers Points Plus + Goals

06/12/2010

I joined Weight Watchers in January 2008 after gaining 25 pounds when I entered seminary.  I worked the program and made it to my goal weight around this time last year.  I achieved Lifetime status on 9 January 2010 and maintained my weight for quite a bit.

After injuring my calf in April, I gained weight because, frankly, I was miserable I couldn’t run so I ate.  Now I’m back on the healthy living track, but struggling a bit, to lose the weight I’ve gained and get back to my happy healthy weight.

By now I’m sure you’ve heard about Weight Watchers making it’s biggest program change in 12 years.  It was all over twitter, blogs, the news, and of course the internet.  If you haven’t heard I don’t know where you’ve been all week. Open-mouthed smile

I was excited, scared, nervous, and thrilled all that same time.  I waited to share my feelings on the new Point Plus program until I had done it for a week so I could give it a fair shake.

I’M IN LOVE!!!!!!!!

I lost 3 pounds in the first week!  Open-mouthed smile

I figured a pros and cons list would be best for me to give my opinions.  I’ll link to some lovely bloggers who did such wonderful reviews of the program as well.

Pros:

  • Zero Point Fruit. At goal I had only 19 points a day so I struggled to pick up a piece of fruit.  I wasn’t eating junk but I wanted quinoa with dinner which mean that a 2 point banana was difficult to eat with breakfast.  Now I don’t have to worry.  I can enjoy my fruit as dessert like I learned in Spain and not worry that it will eat away at my points. (pun intended)
  • Uses more than calories, fat and fiber. I’ve known for a long time that all calories aren’t created equal.  My nutrition professor would be so proud.  I appreciate that Weight Watchers is keeping up with the latest science and adjusting accordingly.  Our knowledge now is not the same as it was in 1997.
  • My Points Plus Target is higher. I my target is higher because all the Points Plus values are higher as well.  But it’s a mental game.  Like I said, 19 points felt so low like I was struggling to fit everything in.  At 29 points plus target I feel like I have sooooooo many points.  I still have to make healthy choices but I don’t feel I like I have eliminate something to fit it all in.
  • Treats are really treats. Points Plus values for almost everything are higher so if I want a treat like my butternut squash muffins or some of Evan’s Vegan Microwave Fudge, they really have to be treats.  I can’t just grab them whenever.  I forgot this healthy habit lately.
  • Renewed focus. I had honestly been phoning in healthy living lately.  I knew the points value of my favorite foods and if not I could guesstimate.  Sure my portions were growing and I was estimating on the lower side but I never attributed that to my plateau or gaining.  Now with the new Points Plus program I have to focus on portion sizes and choices.  I am loving that it gave me back my passion for health.  I’m loving recipe creations and choosing foods that make me feel satisfied and healthy.  This was the kick in the pants I needed.

Cons:

  • Eating my points. With the old program I never had a problem eating all my points and most of my weekly points and even activity points for all the running I was doing.  Now I have a hard time eating my points.  As a vegetarian with IBS I don’t eat many of the foods that are higher in points plus values so I struggle to fill my 29 points.  Pre-planning and making sure I get in the Good Health Guidelines is going to be key.
  • Unclear to members about foods with alcohol and sugar alcohols. Not that I eat these foods because of my IBS, but I know that many members enjoy a drink or sugar free foods.  The fine print on one page about this issue isn’t clearly defined.  The beers are definitely not Zero points and sugar-free foods might not add up if you put in the information because of Weight Watchers Math.  This can be a bit confusing.
  • E-tools rewording. I was prepared to change the foods I added to my e-tools or recipes containing those foods.  But I was bit annoyed when I would have to adjust recipes because an ingredient listed on the Points program as “Mozzarella cheese, shredded” was now “Shredded, Mozzarella Cheese.”  Really?  It took me a bit of time to adjust all the recipes for simple things like that.  I think it was a bit unnecessary.

On thing I really loved about the update didn’t have to do with the program itself but with a realization about myself.  I had so many things in my tracker from how I used to eat.  I had a good giggle at some of these foods and it was cathartic to delete them, knowing that they don’t make me feel good and I don’t need them for comfort foods any more either.

So I’m in love with the new Points Plus Program.  I only see good things going forward.  Goal, here I come.  Smile

As promised here are the links to some other wonderful bloggers who did great reviews of the new program.

Ms. Bitchcakes – New Weight Watcher Points Plus Plan & More Thoughts

Roni from Roni’s Weigh’s take on the new program and her follow-up

Danica Daily’s Ideas on the new program and Points Plus Shockers

Foodie McBody is a leader who was so excited to share.

And finally…David Krichhoff, otherwise known as the Weight Watchers CEO, has a blog and shared his thoughts.

Change is good…even though I hate it sometimes.  This change I loved.  It has me excited about eating healthy and exercising again that I had lost a few months back.  This was the kick-start I needed to get back to the ME who does this for ME!

There will definitely be healthy living goals involved this week…but first to…

Last Week’s Goals:

  • Schedule important appointments. Appointments scheduled, and I actually went to one because they were awesome and could get me in ASAP!  I’m excited that somehow I was able to fit it all in this week.  But my health is something I’ve learned not to mess with.
  • Schedule 20 minutes of real workouts. Heather was my workout pusher this week.  Because of her I not only did the workouts I planned for but I got in some weights, yoga, and abs.  This only happened in the beginning of the week because my allergies were bothersome later in the week.  Thanks Heather, keep kicking my butt!
  • Christmas Gifts. I realized I have only a few gifts left to make.  And I also have more time than I thought.  Especially since family isn’t coming until after Christmas.  But I got one done this week and I have the plans for the other.  Exciting times because I have some free time this week coming to do more.
  • Eat at home. We did pretty well.  My freezer stash is dwindling which means I need to spend an evening cooking or use my crock pot and rice cooker while at work.  We did eat out but not as often as we can.  I enjoyed finding some new recipes I can’t wait to share with y’all, soon I promise.
  • Connect with the outside world. I enjoyed spending time with my friends in Latham after they picked me up from a doctor’s appointment until Hunni could come get me.  I also love my weekly Gchats with other friends and emailing.  My friends were such stress relief this week with all the craziness.

This Week’s Goals:

  • Cook new recipes for freezer. I have many recipes already picked out that I’ve been meaning to make.  I even have the ingredients.  With crock pot liners and having to be in the office all week this should be a piece of cake.
  • 20 minute workouts. I’m not setting a number of days because I’ve been down on myself lately if I don’t hit my target when my health lets me down.  Instead I know I can get in 20 minute workouts and I’ll be ecstatic if they are longer or happen more than last week.
  • Keep my fruits and veggies stocked. I stopped buying fresh fruits and veggies when I stopped canning and the farmer’s market closed.  I became so accustomed to doing this and didn’t know how to adjust to eating local, organic and in season without my local farmers.  I’ve had to make decisions, budget wise, as to what I’ll buy at the co-op and what I’ll just have to get at grocery.  Now with the new Points Plus program I’m encouraged to keep it up even at a great cost.
  • Rest. Sometimes I have to add this to my list.  I get so busy with work…especially at this time of the of the year.  I’ve been pushing hard and I need to remind myself that BRAVO repeats are not necessary.
  • Limit Work Stress. There are a lot of things this week that have the potential to cause lots of stress.  I have a plan and I will work hard.  I need to remember that stress is going to happen not matter what I do but how I handle it is important.  Sleeping, reading, exercise, cooking and talking to friends and family will be important to limiting that stress even when it happens.

The weeks keep marching on and I can’t believe it is only 20 days until Christmas.  I will survive is becoming my theme song.

Despite it all I’m actually enjoying this Christmas season more than I thought.  Thank you all for your support.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/12/2010 9:05 AM

    I have mixed emotions when it comes to WW. Mind you, I had no idea about the Point Plus plan. The last time I was on it I had what felt like WAY too many points. Eating them up was almost impossible and I got really frustrated with myself and the plan! Glad to hear your loving it! Well done!

  2. ann rennie permalink
    06/12/2010 10:56 AM

    wow great post wish all of my members were reading it. Blessings Ann

  3. Brandi permalink
    06/12/2010 12:26 PM

    wahoo! What a great first week! having fun changes is always exciting 🙂

    I’ve got to read up on their new program. Since I don’t work for them anymore, I haven’t seen the details about the program yet.

  4. jennas1978 permalink
    06/12/2010 1:13 PM

    Great job on your first week!!!

    I’m going to re-join, I think, in the new year. Realistically, I know that with the holidays, parties, etc., it just won’t get done before then, not to mention trying to get back into working full time with an infant. However, I’ll get at least 43 (!!!) points, as I get an additional 14 points for nursing full time, which is INSANE in my mind.

    • 06/12/2010 2:06 PM

      I know. My friend who is nursing is excited.

      I think you have the right mindset about it Jenna. I can’t wait to see how you like it 🙂

  5. 09/12/2010 11:53 PM

    I’m really excited about the new points plus program… I did weight watchers in high school and it really helped me. My mom and I are planning on joining again in January and I’m excited for the new changes they have made, I feel like they have improved the program in general for the better!

    • 09/12/2010 11:57 PM

      I’m excited for you. Let me know if you have any questions when you start up again.

      • 10/12/2010 12:12 AM

        thanks Cynthia, it will be great to know someone else besides my mom for some support 🙂

  6. 12/12/2010 4:03 PM

    Hooray for you and hooray for PointsPlus!

  7. Lindsey permalink
    22/12/2010 12:20 PM

    I just purchased the three month plan for my mom and I’m trying to figure out how everything works before I introduce her to it. You seem like you really know how the points plus thing works. Could you please help me?

  8. 28/12/2010 7:25 PM

    I am just now getting caught up so I am late in saying this. Congrats on the loss! I absolutely LOVE the new program and definitely think it’s more fun to have to try to “fit in” all your daily points versus feeling like you don’t have enough.

    Great recap and thanks for the link love 🙂

    Danica

    • 28/12/2010 7:48 PM

      Thanks Danica.

      I am still working the program and figuring it out for my situation but I enjoy many aspects.

Trackbacks

  1. Then Heather Said » Blog Archive » Craft Time: Workout Journal
  2. Not Dead Yet « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

