Skip to content

Crock Pot Lasagna – Vegan

03/12/2010

When I began my healthy living journey I transitioned from things requiring a single plate and three minutes in the microwave to real meals.  Such a shock to my single girl status and my lack of real cooking skills.  Over time I built up a group of standard of recipes I could go to…sometimes even cooking from memory.

Then my IBS started to rear it’s ugly head and out went some of my – and Hunni’s – favorite recipes because they contained foods from my naughty list.  Thank God that the lovely blog world has a way of teaching me that you don’t need things like eggs when baking or even cheese when making pizza.  This was a revelation and slowly I’ve been digging out old recipes to remake them in It All Changes friendly versions.

Hunni’s favorite meal, besides any form of pizza, is Crock pot lasagna.  The old version had loads of dairy and a good bit of ground turkey.  I tweaked and adapted to make it not only vegetarian…but VEGAN!!!!

Crock Pot Lasagna – Vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can cannellini beans, rinsed
  • oregano, salt, pepper
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • Vegan Ricotta
        • 1 block firm tofu, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 1 tbsp olive oil, oregano, basil, salt and pepper to taste.
        • Process in food processor until consistency of ricotta
  • 6 vegan lasagna noodles
  • 1 1/2 cups Daiya mozzarella cheese
  • 3 tbsp nutritional yeast

Instructions:

  1. In large skillet sauté onion and garlic on medium heat until soft. IMG_5724
  2. Add beans to heat through.  Season with spices to taste. IMG_5719
  3. Incorporate tomatoes and watch out for flying bubbles. Smile IMG_5744
  4. Meanwhile create your ricotta mixture and add 1/2 cup of cheese to mixture. IMG_5742
  5. In slow cooker crock, ladle a small amount of sauce on bottom. IMG_5750
  6. Create a layer using two noodles.  You will need to break them to fit, but they do not need to fit perfectly. IMG_5751
  7. Layer in more sauce and then some of the vegan ricotta. IMG_5753
  8. Repeat process until all noodles, sauce, and “cheese” mixture are used ensuring sauce is final layer. IMG_5755
  9. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours. IMG_5761
  10. After main cooking time top with remaining Daiya cheese and nutritional yeast.  IMG_5764Cover leaving lid slightly open until daily melts.  IMG_5769
  11. Serve and enjoy!

This was a perfect copy!  Hunni didn’t even realize I had veganized his favorite dish until I mentioned it.  And it was the perfect comfort food after my ER trip for the allergies…no allergens in here for me.  I had 2 servings.

IMG_5831

Bonus: It freezes well to reheat when you are busy…if you don’t eat it all in 3 days. Smile

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/12/2010 12:14 PM

    This looks really good. Teague likes tofu, but I’ve never had it. I think this would be a great chance to take a test drive!

  2. 03/12/2010 2:26 PM

    Hi Cynthia,
    We featured this recipe on our facebook page today! You can see by visiting us here:
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Daiya-Vegan-Cheese/107417074097

    Thanks so much for your interest in our products, we hope you continue to share more great recipes in the future!

    Healthy regards,

    Daiya Foods

  3. jenn permalink
    03/12/2010 2:48 PM

    I am so excited to make this. I’ve been meaning to make some vegan lasagna and this looks like a fun one!

  4. 03/12/2010 8:16 PM

    O.M.G. This sounds soooooooo good, and I love that its in a crock pot! Can’t wait to try this!

  5. Barbara permalink
    03/12/2010 11:12 PM

    This sounds awesome . . . except I can’t eat tofu/anything soy. 😦 Do you have any ideas for substitutes for the tofu part? I’d love to be able to try this.

    • 04/12/2010 10:05 AM

      Great question. I’ve not tried either recipe but I have one for Almond “ricotta” and Pine Nut “ricotta” I found.

      Let me know if either work. 🙂 I should try them to limit my soy too.

      • Barbara permalink
        04/12/2010 1:10 PM

        Oh, thank you for those recipes! I think the almond one sounds particularly good! I look forward to making this lasagna now – I’m having company for New Year’s Eve, and this would be perfect!

        🙂

      • 04/12/2010 2:54 PM

        That will be a great recipe to have on hand for a company 🙂 I hope they enjoy.

  6. Barbara permalink
    04/12/2010 6:12 PM

    I will let you know, for sure! 🙂

  7. 05/12/2010 6:33 PM

    I am so happy that the blog world has introduced me to things like almond milk and tofu. I would have missed out on so much!

Trackbacks

  1. You Can Make This : Dried Beans « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

