Skip to content

Stop Global Whining

01/12/2010

Have you ever checked out the non-fiction video section of the library?  There are so many amazing things, like this beauty I watched with my Women’s group before our crazy work schedule started.

IMG_5548

Yes that says Joy of Stress.  Stress is anything but joyful.  It often leaves me pulling on my hair and wanting to bang my head on the desk.  At the end of the day I sometimes need to check for a bald spot.

Why should stress be so stressful or why should we let it ruin our day?  Kids are said to laugh 400 or more time a day.  The good kid laughs from the belly to the point they can’t stop.

children laugh

(source)

As cranky adults, we only laugh a pitiful 15 times a day.  Honestly most of those are forced through gritted teeth.  When was the last time you really laughedFor me: Last week I thought Hunni said and would have made a perfectly inappropriate tweet Winking smile

Instead as adults we tend to worry, kvetch, fret and panic.  Some things in life that truly deserve our nervous energy…and there these is the rest of the stuff…the stuff we can’t control.  For me it’s mostly the latter. The weather, for example.  We complain like cats caught in the rain, instead of jumping in the puddles.

Jump!

(source)

We castastrophize and awfulize things and make sure everyone knows how stressful our lives are.  The more we talk about our stress, the more we feel.  We are going to suffer stress throughout our lives…why practice?

Optimists live longer you know? A pessimist may be more accurate, but who cares.  Hunni’s the optimist and I’m definitely the pessimist.

IMG_4538

I will work, work, work and still not get it all done.  “I’ll have fun when I have time.”

IMG_3510

Hunni is the “Fake it ‘til you make it” kind of guy.  His schedule is just as busy but he finds time to have fun.  How the heck does he do it? He makes the time because he knows his to-do list will still be there tomorrow.

question-mark-7343193

(source)

Instead of complaining I we need to have fun like “they” aren’t watching.  Who are they and do they really care? Will the world end if we don’t make our beds, clean all the dishes in the sink, put everything away before we can sit still for just one second.  If we have to do everything we are getting what we ask for…Anxiety.

Make life a game and you’ll enjoy it all the more.  Celebrate the small victories and for goodness sake…

STOP GLOBAL WHINING!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/12/2010 9:44 AM

    This post touches on something I plan to write about next…

    You’re right on about this not-laughing-enough thing. After spending four days with my sisters and my best friend (and their respective husbands) in Myrtle Beach, SC this Thanksgiving, I can assure you that it IS possible for adults to laugh (from the belly) up to 400 times a day.

    I came home from this trip a lighter person. Honestly, I laughed so hard one night I pulled a muscle in my now preggo belly. It was fantastic. 🙂

    Is the title of that Loretta LaRoche DVD supposed to be sarcastic? Or does Ms. LaRoche espouse the “joys” of stress? Just curious. You never know with self-help gurus.

    • 05/12/2010 7:07 PM

      Loretta is so funny it was one of those laugh so hard you cry times. She pointed out the tendency to say woe is me and then gave great alternatives.

      I can’t wait to read about you fun time with family and laughing.

  2. 06/12/2010 12:12 AM

    Oh – if only my kids would stop the global whining! Just kidding – I think I whine more than they do!!

    • 06/12/2010 10:29 AM

      Thanks for the laugh Diane. I sometimes think I am the worst contributor with my pessimism 🙂

Leave a Reply

