Skip to content

Halloween Christmas?

27/11/2010

When it comes to Christmas decorations there are definitely a few camps.

IMG_5456

You have the not until November types who wait patiently for Halloween to pass before digging out the wreaths, trees and bows to welcome in the holiday season.

You have the Black Friday weekend crowd who lump decorating in with shopping and great deals on presents right after Thanksgiving is over.

There are some rare breeds –usually the real tree people – who must wait until December when it is truly time for Christmas and no other holidays get in the way.

However us Salvation Army Officers make our own camp…Cowboy style. Smile

IMG_5452We start Christmas preparations long before the world utters words like fall or pumpkin spiced latte. Our calendars say “Christmas Prep” in months like July and September.  Yeah, we’re a bit weird, so we tend to be in a decorating crowd all our own.

Enter Halloween Christmas.

Yes this year Hunni and I were the nutzos in Target purchasing lights and balls while everyone else was picking last-minute candy and costumes.  We’re weird and proud. From our previous two years of experience, we know if the tree isn’t up before November 1st, it isn’t going up. Smile

Hunni was a little too eager to explore the Halloween items and thought the puppers would look great as food items or a skeleton was the perfect ornament.

IMG_5451IMG_5450

I steered him away from Halloween and towards Christmas.  This is our first Christmas decorating as a couple so there was little debate. Tinsel versus garland…colored lights versus white…and who does the decorating. I’m happy to say we survived…even when looking at stuff like this.  AHHH!

IMG_5454IMG_5455

Since we created our home gym we had the perfect corner for the tree.  Although Hunni hates the tree.  It has attacked him in the past.

IMG_5463IMG_5473

Most of our decorations Momma gave me when I entered the real worldSmile

IMG_5468

Peanut thought I was nuts as I took pictures in my Halloween costume while watching the Patriots play.  Okay so I was a bit nuts. Smile

IMG_5476IMG_5483

With the tree put together, the lights and garland strung…I won…I was able to relive my past.  I’ve collected one ornament every year for as long as I can remember.  Anything from crafty school kid things….IMG_5508

Yes that’s me..2nd grade Open-mouthed smile

Gifts from friends and family around the world…

IMG_5491IMG_5507

Polish Christmas Ornament (not voodoo dolls) and Hunni & I as ornaments made by my cousins

And those collected for major milestones in life…weight loss, the Eiffel Tower, and Honeymoon in Central Park. Smile

IMG_5500IMG_5505IMG_5502

Last year’s ornament was this cute little German Chef guy since I’ve been learning to cook more for my health and my body.  He’s adorable don’t you think.

IMG_5511

By the time the Patriots game was over (and WE WON!!), the tree was decorated and it was officially Christmas in the It All Changes house.

IMG_5519

You may think I’m nuts…heck I am…but Happy Halloween Christmas is the way it goes around here. Smile

Do you have strict rules on when to decorate for the holidays?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/11/2010 1:03 PM

    How fun and festive! I’m glad you were able to compromise/win on the tree decorating issue. I have no rules (well, no tinsel allowed) and I am excited to start and continue traditions with Bri- he LOVES christmas 🙂

    • 27/11/2010 1:13 PM

      Thanks! It was an intense debate…then I reminded him he’d have to vacuum up all the tinsel 🙂

      Having fun traditions of your own are great. I’m sure you two will have a blast 🙂

  2. 28/11/2010 1:38 PM

    I tend to decorate a little earlier each year. This year, I did it the weekend before Thanksgiving. That way, everything was decked out in holiday style by the time my family arrived for the week. I think the weekend before Thanksgiving is probably the earliest acceptable.

  3. 28/11/2010 2:10 PM

    Haha…I had no idea that there are different types when it comes to decorating for Christmas. All I’ve known is the people who are way anxious 😉 and those who wait till the closer to the holidays.
    Be well! 🙂

  4. 28/11/2010 5:00 PM

    Oh man! Yes the husband and I have not-until-thanksgiving is done rule. We feel one holiday needs to be over before celebrating the next one. But to each their own 😀

  5. 29/11/2010 12:01 AM

    You and my hubby would get along great! Although we don’t decorate until after Thanksgiving HE starts listening to Christmas music in August!

    • 29/11/2010 1:08 AM

      I have to start listening to the music in October to get in the mood for all our Christmas work. Otherwise I just feel weird.

  6. jennas1978 permalink
    29/11/2010 1:45 PM

    We fall into two camps…decorate the weekend after Thanksgiving (most of our stuff is done now), and set up the timers to start going the first weekend in December (that will be our project on Saturday morning before the babe awakes)…then wait until mid-December to do the finishing touch, which is our real tree. 🙂

    Moving to a bigger house solved our garland v. tinsel debate…Joe gets garland on the fake tree in the formal living room, and I get tinsel on the real tree in the family room (that Santa will be putting gifts under)!!

    Yes, I think decorating for Christmas on Halloween is insanity, but with your holiday schedule, it’s acceptable insanity!!!

    • 29/11/2010 2:13 PM

      Thank Jenna for accepting my insanity. I used to fall into the not until after Thanksgiving time frame too.

      I think our tinsel debate was solved the second I mentioned vacuuming 😉

Leave a Reply

