Skip to content

I Collect ER Bracelets

14/11/2010
tags: ,

It seems that I’m collecting ER bracelets.

IMG_3866

I promise I don’t like to go to the ER. I always feel dumb because I’m not dying or anything…but I seem to end up there a lot.  The last time I burned my hands making salsa.  Before that I had a prednisone reaction on Fourth of July.  Plus many other things including what a catheter broke in my back during a surgical procedure resulting in major back surgery.

Well last night after I finished the post about my allergy situations I had to make another ER trip.  Since my allergy tests on Monday I’ve been extremely itchy, exhausted, and my throat has been sore with a scratchy voice and they kept getting worse.

It felt like I couldn’t breathe, swallow or talk so Hunni called our doctor hoping for the A-okay to take a LARGE dose of Benadryl and come in on Monday.  Then came the dreaded words, “Take her to ER immediately.” I thought he was joking.  It’s just a sore throat.  But off we went to the ER…me still in my workout clothes from earlier in the day.

Hunni explained everything to the triage nurse and I was whisked into a room.  I heard talking in the hallway and the doctor say “get her a bed” before the he came in.  He was frank and told me, without an examination, they would be admitting me for anaphylaxis.  My allergies were on overdrive from the testing and my vocal cords were swollen.  I needed monitoring at least overnight so they could intervene, if necessary.

Several doses of steroids and Benadryl knocked me out and Hunni went home while I was admitted.  Today I have a voice again, which is good, and I can swallow.  I also have a fancy new prescription for an EpiPen and more steroids to go with my allergy pills.  They released me but told me to come back ASAP if my throat starts closing again.

Looks like I’m here on the couch for a few days with my pups.

IMG_5808IMG_5820IMG_5809

They don’t mind on bit…they missed me last night.  This entire things seems surreal and I can’t stop laughing about it.  Only things like this would happen to me.  I think I should win an award or something for this.  But I did get some cute get well cards from the kids in church.  Here they are.  My favorite is the last one Smile

IMG_5824IMG_5823IMG_5825IMG_5830IMG_5826IMG_5827

IMG_5821

Yes kids I’m alive and I’m glad you love horses…unfortunately I’m allergic Open-mouthed smile

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Witruk permalink
    14/11/2010 5:46 PM

    WOW!! you better just rest up and get better!!!
    Chris

  2. 14/11/2010 5:57 PM

    Wow! What an ordeal!

    That’s like the time I waited to go to the doctor for my flu until I became covered with spots. Turns out they were an allergic reaction because my t-cells were so low and couldn’t fight the virus off anymore. The doctor told me, stay out of school until next week, come back on monday for more blood tests and if you get the slightest fever this weekend, go to the ER IMMEDIATELY and bring them your blood results from today. I started laughing, and she said, “I’m serious. You could die.”

    Like what? From the flu? O_O

    Luckily, I didn’t come down with a fever again!

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    • 14/11/2010 6:12 PM

      Wow! It is a bit scary. When they tell you that you may die it’s kind of surreal.

      Glad you are okay. 🙂

  3. 14/11/2010 6:06 PM

    OMG! Well, I’m glad you’re okay and can laugh at yourself 🙂 That makes kinda-scary medical things a lot less scary. See: http://losingweightinthecity.com/post/1049432754/gpoyw-pulling-an-imaginary-tube-out-of-my

    • 14/11/2010 6:14 PM

      Exactly. If I couldn’t laugh I’d be reduced to tears. It’s more fun to laugh because I’m so prone to this stuff than anything.

  4. 14/11/2010 6:35 PM

    Yikes! So yoour allergy tests were too much for yoru system? I hope you atleast found out what sets you off so you can stay safe. Love the cute cards!

    • 14/11/2010 6:45 PM

      Basically. I’m super allergic. So having all those allergens introduced to my system in the span of 3 days set me off. Oops. The cards were too cute and made me smile when Hunni came to see me after church.

  5. 14/11/2010 9:03 PM

    Didn’t I just say to you on Thursday, “At least none of your allergies cause anaphylaxis?” Sorry if I jinxed you! Glad you’re feeling better…and that you have a sense of humor about it!

  6. 14/11/2010 10:04 PM

    yikes!! glad you’re feeling better.

    I’m going for allergy testing next week and now I’m nervous!

    • 14/11/2010 10:12 PM

      Thanks. Don’t worry about your testing. According to all the doctors “I’m special.” This isn’t a normal reaction…I’m strange 😀

  7. 15/11/2010 1:58 AM

    Cynthia,

    I’m praying for you. WOW. What an ordeal. Take care of yourself and rest.

    • 15/11/2010 10:35 AM

      Thanks Brooks. I’m taking as best care of myself I can. Work is busy but I’m resting as much as possible.

  8. 15/11/2010 10:18 AM

    How scary! I’m glad you’re home and have a way to treat any future attacks…

    Take some time and regroup and get better, my friend!

  9. 15/11/2010 10:37 AM

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better!

  10. 16/11/2010 12:07 PM

    Aw, feel better soon girl!!

Trackbacks

  1. So Fresh and So Clean –Giveaway « It All Changes
  2. Crock Pot Lasagna – Vegan « It All Changes
  3. If Everyone Jumped Off a Bridge « It All Changes
  4. “What Can You Eat?” « It All Changes
  5. Alphabet Me « It All Changes
  6. Monday Allergy Monday–Day 3 | Daring To Grow

Leave a Reply

