Skip to content

Can It Be?

14/11/2010

Can a healthy living blogger really be allergic to all the foods that spread like wild-fire across our little section of the blogosphere? ::gasp::

First a little background.

As a kid I was the Nutella queen.  I lived in Europe as a proud ARMY brat and ate the lovely chocolate hazelnut spread on EVERYTHING. We lived by the current philosophy that it’s a health food. Open-mouthed smile It became a favorite binge when it arrived on US shores.  Lately I love anything filled with full hazelnuts. Smile

nutella

(source)

When I started reading healthy living blogs I fell in love with all things almond.  Almond Butter, almond milk and almonds of every flavor – roasted tamari almonds, anyone?

IMG_5807

Finally Pumpkin.  As a kid pumpkin pie was my favorite, because apple is just icky, sorry.  Suddenly pumpkin wasn’t just for pies.  Oh no, it was added to oatmeal, yogurt, cake and cookies…heck I added it to coffee for homemade lattes.IMG_5804

Now back to today

If you’ve read anything on It All Changes you know I have stomach issues.  I spend my time finding alternatives to some foods and completely avoiding others.  Finally I broke down and went to see an allergist for testing.

I knew I was majorly allergic to environmental things.  Basically I should have my own plastic bubble.  I’d never had food testing before.  I’d always gone on trial and error with foods.  This time I’d have OFFICIAL answers.IMG_5647

Except I’m more confused than ever!!!  The results didn’t give me the answers I was hoping…it created more questions. AHHH! It turns out I’m only allergic to pumpkin, almonds and hazelnuts.  Everything else is just intolerances as evidenced by the flaming red rash across my arm.

IMG_5641

I don’t know how this is determined since my body is still mad at me, with full on scratchy throat and itchy arms despite numerous doses of Benadryl and cough drops.

IMG_5678

So it’s back to trial and error.  Avoiding the things that make my tummy hurt and now avoiding the foods I loved but my don’t love me back. Farewell my friends almond butter, pumpkin and hazelnuts.  You will be missed.  The other foods I’ve already forgotten.

I’m sure my friends will enjoy the Christmas gifts of full cans of pumpkin, pumpkin butter, almond butter and sliced almonds.  Merry Christmas all ya lucky ducks. Sad smile

Have you ever had allergy testing?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/11/2010 10:49 AM

    I don’t have any allergies but the hubby is allergic to tree nuts and is sensitive to most fruits that are eaten with skins – apples, peaches, pears etc.

    Saw that you were an army brat. I was a navy brat and picked up my love of nutella in Italy – along with MANY other foods 🙂

  2. 14/11/2010 2:33 PM

    Oh no! You’re allergic to everything awesome! 😦

    I’ve never had allergy tests. Every time I go into the doctor and complain about allergies they just shove allergy medicine at me. Yeah. That really helps. Fail.

    • 14/11/2010 4:18 PM

      That’s what they did to me. I finally begged for the tests and they gave them. I don’t know which is worse…knowing or not. 🙂

  3. 14/11/2010 5:38 PM

    I had allergy testing done after a particularly horrendous “allergic” summer where I had to go to the ER 3 times. I knew I had sensitivities and allergies, but my 21 year-old self didn’t care all that much. It turned out to be a weight loss program that I was on through our local hospital with pre-packaged food that threw me over the allergy edge. Turns out all the “good stuff” I was packing into my system was actually inundating me with all the stuff I was allergic to. By the time I got to the allergist, I was so allergic to everything! I had sensitivities to everything – basically I was Bubble Girl. Nine years later and a round of allergy shots, I’m able to eat some of my allergy foods on occasion. I still have sensitivity to them, but at least I don’t go into full-blown allergy mode like I did then.
    Have they recommended allergy shots for you?

    • 14/11/2010 5:45 PM

      The doctor today just did. Reading your story makes me even more anxious to mention it to my allergist when I call tomorrow.

  4. 14/11/2010 7:37 PM

    when i was a vegetarian i’d break out in horrible rashes every once in a while. so i got tested and turns out i’m SLIGHTLY allergic to every single vegetarian protein source – and that includes veggies!!! y’know what i’m not allergic to at all? MEAT! that’s why i’m a carnivore again.

    • 14/11/2010 7:44 PM

      Oh my Lynn. That would be a big problem for me. I don’t digest meat well with my IBS. I’m up a crick.

  5. 16/11/2010 9:15 PM

    I DEFINITELY know how frustrating that is. I’m currently working with a naturopath with an elimination to find out what has been upsetting my stomach. I’ve been struggling with extreme bloating (which leads to great conversations with your mother who is convinced you are 4 months pregnant and not telling her), pain, fatigue, and horrid immune system. Which makes sense – it’s busy fighting whatever it is I’m putting into my system that doesn’t belong.

    Good luck with your journey!
    PS: I spent part of my childhood in Germany, and Nutella was most definitely a health food 🙂

    • 16/11/2010 9:24 PM

      Eeek! Yeah I told my mom long ago. I definitely wasn’t pregnant and I was in PAIN so she needed to know 😉

      Germany has a wonderful place in my heart. I heart it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I Collect ER Bracelets « It All Changes
  2. Eat In Month + Goals « It All Changes
  3. “What Can You Eat?” « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

