Skip to content

Dead French Toast ?

10/11/2010

In my former life (i.e. 5 years ago) I was a High School Spanish Teacher.  Halloween I could do without but Dia de los Muertos, Day of the Dead, was an entirely different story.  The culture, colors, and designs were so fun to teach.  Okay all kidding aside…I loved the food.  I loved the sugar skulls and especially the day of the dead bread.

IMG_5520

Meet Mr. Dead Bread Man.  A lovely anise flavored, orange glazed dead person.  Normally this would be creepy, but in the name of culture it is fun and delicious.  I haven’t had any in years until my favorite bakery, Bread Euphoria, was advertising them for Halloween.  I forgave them for being a few days off – Dia de los Muertos is 2 November – and ordered two on impulse.  Smile

The first loaf, no problem.  Heck I devoured the legs on the drive home.  Tasted just like the loaves I brought and shared begrudgingly with my students.  This bread is FRESH and there’s no way that we could eat it before the stale settled in.

So what can I make with stale bread? Croutons…Not with this flavor combo.  Bread crumbs…when do you need sweet bread crumbs?  French toast? I’m not a big fan and neither is Hunni.  We can’t get past the eggy thing around the edges.

This bread was headed to the duck pond fast so I decided to give the French toast another try.  If it was bad the ducks could still eat the rest.

I had a special sneak peek of a Reci-pea for vegan French toast recipe that you’ll have to buy a special book to enjoy (thanks Mama Pea).  Trust me, I’m buying the book just for this…it is worth it!!!!

There are so many other ways you can veganize your French Toast.  Here are a few options…Smashed banana, Oh She Glows’ version, Double Dipped chia seeds and banana from Never Homemaker, or soy milk and flour. All of these look great and I’m up for more tries when I have the ingredients in the kitchen.

Poor Mr. Dead Bread had to be sacrificed for the French toast…good thing he is already dead.  I cut six slices and dipped into the special mixture.  Don’t pay attention to the leftover in the back.  It was eaten while cooking. Smile

IMG_5528IMG_5529

Mr. Dead bread winked at me as I was making my slices.  I think he approved of the French Toast idea.

IMG_5521

In my family everyone owns a large electric skillet to make perfect pancakes, large meals and now French toast.  Out of the fun bath of goo and into the hot skillet.

IMG_5532IMG_5530

Perfectly browned French toast without the eggy edges.  Hunni and I were ecstatic!

IMG_5535

The perfect French toast topping? Straight up maple syrup.  I thought I’d be creative and make an orange Hunni honey syrup to compliment the flavors in the bread.  Uh no go.  Best left to the Food Network Stars.  I stuck to the maple syrup after I wasted a good bit of my precious honey.

IMG_5458IMG_5459

At least we had the rest of the orange juice to drink with our dinner as I topped mine with maple syrup…the real stuff.

IMG_5538

Dead French toast is a go!  The syrups I’ll leave to the professionals…for now Smile

Do you like breakfast for dinner?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/11/2010 9:35 AM

    Love breakfast for dinner. Do it at least one night a week.

  2. 10/11/2010 9:41 AM

    I love breakfast for dinner, but I don’t do it very often. Not sure why! 🙂

  3. 10/11/2010 12:22 PM

    I have breakfast for dinner all of the time. It rules.

    Your french toast looks fab!

    • 10/11/2010 12:25 PM

      Thanks! It is so quick to put together breakfast for dinner. I’m also known to have dinner for breakfast in a hurry :0-)

  4. 10/11/2010 12:51 PM

    Hi Cynthia! I like the new layout–I like the font you have for the menu and the headings of your blog posts, but its a bit hard to read for the entire post…maybe change that font back to a simple one so its easier on the eyes. Hope this helps!! 😀

  5. 10/11/2010 3:22 PM

    LOVE breakfast for dinner! I actually like it more later in the day than first thing in the morning, lol. French toast sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

