Skip to content

Fried Rice Your Way–Guest Post

05/11/2010

I’m on my way to a conference…what else is new.  This one is supposed to be fun with great meals (I talked to the chef).  In the meantime enjoy a fun guest post (MY FIRST!!!) from Kate for a quick and easy meal we can all enjoy at this time of year.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hi everyone! I’m Kate over at What Kate Ate.

A few weeks ago I randomly asked Cynthia if she wanted to exchange guest posts because I love her laid back approach to healthy food and recipes. And I know I can’t ever get my a hands on enough easy recipes! So once your done reading here make sure you check out her delicious Root Veggie Crock pot meal!

I love inexpensive, fuss-free meals but sometimes you want anything but a frittata or beans. That’s where this recipe comes in.

Fried rice is the convenient cooks secret weapon. You can go meat-free or meat-full. You can raid your fridge and freezer for veggies galore. And the best part is you don’t even want to use fresh rice, the leftover stuff works the best!

1

Fried Rice Your Way

  • 2 c cooked brown rice or other whole grain
  • Assorted veggies
  • Scallions
  • 2 eggs [optional]
  • 2 tbsp peanut or vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp dark sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • Garlic and ginger to taste

1. Put 1 tbsp oil in a hot skillet. Add scallions, onions, and peppers stirring until brown. Transfer to a bowl and add remaining vegetables to the pan. Allow veggies to cook until tender, add sprouts if you are using them, and then transfer to the bowl, too.

2. Add garlic and ginger with the remaining oil in the skillet, and begin gradually adding rice. If you are using eggs slightly beat them and add to the center of the skillet; scrambling them and mixing them in with the rice.

3. Add all of the vegetables to the pan and fold everything together as you add the soy sauce and sesame oil, plus salt and pepper to taste.

3

What ingredient does your fried rice have to contain?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    05/11/2010 11:51 AM

    Hi Cynthia (and Kate)!

    I’m dying to find the crock pot root veggie recipe but the link isn’t taking me there!!!

  2. 06/11/2010 10:13 AM

    My teen son cooks fried rice a lot! I am almost embarrassed to share that if we don’t have a protein around, like leftover chicken or beef, he uses chicken nuggets. And lots of hot spices.

  3. 09/11/2010 11:20 PM

    Hmmm..scallions/green onions are a must for me. I love the freshness they add!

    • 10/11/2010 12:15 AM

      Scallions are a fun ingredient to have on hand. I like the bright fresh flavor the add.

Trackbacks

  1. A year in recipes | What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

